Community News & Events: Dec. 6


• A card shower is planned for Nancy Clem, who will celebrate her 75th birthday Saturday. Cards can be sent to her c/o Consulate Health Care, 803 S. Main St., Woodstock, Virginia 22664.

• A card shower is planned for Charlotte Branner, who will celebrate her 90th birthday Dec. 13. Cards can be sent to 142 Miller Court, Woodstock, Virginia 22664.


A Christmas party for children with special needs and their families will be held from 2 to 4 p.m. Sunday at the Toms Brook Fire Hall. There will be refreshments, crafts, cookie decorating, visit from Santa with photos and a present for each child.


Bowman Library in Stephens City will host the Apple Valley Ringers, a local hand bell group, performing their “Rock and Pop Bell” concert from 4 to 5 p.m. Sunday.  Information: 540-662-6046.

School news

Shenandoah County Public Schools was awarded a Silver Certification in the 2017 Virginia School Boards Association’s Green Schools Challenge, a  competition designed to encourage implementation of specific environmental policies and practical actions that reduce the carbon emissions generated by both the local school division and the broader community.

School divisions earn  green points  for different levels of certification by implementing new actions and adopting new policies.

SCPS earned points for activities in the following areas:

School division policy adoption, energy efficiency, waste management, vehicles, indoor environmental quality, employee incentives, education/community participation, schools, student involvement, cooperation between school division and local government and innovation for minimizing the use of toxic materials in landscape maintenance and painting as well as limiting the use of styrofoam in school cafeterias.

Shenandoah County was one of 33 school divisions across Virginia to be certified as a Green School Division and one of five divisions to receive “Silver Certification.”

Honor roll

Several sixth-grade students’ names were omitted by Robert E. Aylor Middle School when it announced its first grading period honor roll. The correct list is:

All-A: Gavin Aufdenberg, Seanna Baker, Tristan Bardelli, Rylie Benson, MaKenna Blair, Anna Borst, Riley Boyden, Kathryn Bryant, Evan Burrell, Hanna Cadd, Kirsten Cantrell, Rosemary Cavalier, Madison Chapman, Keller Cooley, Gabriel Crawford, Carlos Cupul Becki, Nathan Dearman, Starr Dehaven, Elizabeth Ellison, Alondra Espinosa Belmontes, Emily Foster, Zachary Galano, Liam Gossard, Russell Hart, Jathan Harper, Krystel Hatcher, Evanlyn Hess, Emma Kovak, Madison Lawrence, Isabella Lloyd, McKenzey Longerbeam, Sarah Martin, Jovani Martinez Bautista, Dylan McCook, Dylan McGraw, Hunter McQueen, Cody Medek, Eddyn Molden, Wesley Pendzich, Kaytria Powers, Madison Reed, Marshall Robertson, Beau Scheulen, Shelby Shickle, Kaydan Shomaker, Leila Sylvester Miller, Annalise Sison, Benjamin Smith, Castanea Steward, Rebecca Stout, Michelle Tarbell, Natalie Toy, Maura Turner, Jacqueline Udy, Abigail Vadnais, Katherine Van Eck, Johnny Vo, Justin Walker, Adeline Wallin, Colton Wood.

A-B: Brennan Adams, Avarey Anderson, John Arellano, Averie Arnica, Natalie Ash, Nydializ Baez Cosme, Michael Ballenger, Charles Bard, Evan Barlow, Malechi Blakesley, Kiari Bloom, Mikala Brown, Trevor Carter, Kyleigh Castleberry, Carter Cooper, Matthew Courchen, Aubrey Czap, Hunter Dellinger, Reagan Dennis, Kacey Depoy, Breauna Dicken, Giovonna Divittorio, Tristan Durham, Destiny Fasenmyer, Cooper Fitch, Kathryn Fleet, Cody Fletcher, Madison Funes, Alyssa Gage, Tyler Gray, Rosalinda Guerrero Del Cid, Ariel Harden, Ainsley Hartzell, Sean High, Ty’Rell Holmes, Aidan Horton, Jhabari Jackson, Ashlynn Johnson, Brady Jones, Lilly Jones, Baqeya Khatibi, Lucas Kinkead, John Klein, Ashley Klingenberg, Landyn Lamb, Brady Largent, Sarah Lavey, Marisol Leon, Dustin Livermore, Natalie Lopez Marin, Aiden Mackey, Samuel Marshall-Sours, Hunter Mason, Trinity Mason, Paige McKee, James McVeigh, Julean Mendez, Sarah Meyer, Courtney Miller, Layla Miller, Julieanna Moore, Jamaal Nowlin, Kyleigh Oliver, Ashlyn Peiffer, Kelsen Pendleton, Joshua Petruska, Javien Rivera, Levi Salyers, Karen Saravia, William Schneider, Chloe Shell, Tanner Shiley, Adam Shobaki, Alyssa Simmons, Cassidy Smith, Izabel Smoot, Logan Springmann, Noah Stone, Ryleigh Strosnider, Tyler Strosnider, Brennan Strother, Shaun Thompson, Madison Tinsman, Carlos Trinidad, Jericho Turman, Joshua Villalta, Madison West, Abigail White, Asia Williams, Cassius Williams, Ella Wilson, Harley Wilson, Aiden Wood.


Send in your events at http://www.nvdaily.com/submit-news.