School volunteers are honored

Volunteers serving Shenandoah County Public Schools were recognized at the School Board’s June meeting.

Recognized were the W.W. Robinson Elementary School Parent Teacher Organization, Don Sobanko, Joan Chapman and Bob Wymer and Tyler Hinkle.

W.W. Robinson’s Parent Teacher Organization board, composed of President Cyndy Walsh, Vice President Amber Reiley, Secretary Katie Maher and Treasurer Penny Dalton, was named Elementary Level Volunteer of the Year. The board was nominated by Heather Loughry, a first-grade teacher. The PTO held fundraisers, fun fairs, spirit night and other events to benefit the school.

Don Sobanko was named Middle Level Volunteer of the Year for being a cross country coach and Running Club sponsor. He was nominated by Shelby Kline, principal at North Fork Middle School. Sobanko has been a volunteer coach for North Fork Middle School’s Cross Country team for five years and a Running Club sponsor for three years. In addition, during the summer, he and his wife, Valerie, host open runs to prepare student athletes for the fall cross county season.

Joan Chapman and Bob Wymer were named Secondary Level Volunteers of the Year for their work with the Learning Independence for Everyday [LIFE] Program. They were nominated by Heather Miller, who teaches the LIFE class at Central High School. The LIFE Program is a class for post-graduate special education students from throughout Shenandoah County.

Tyler Hinkle was named Student Volunteer of the Year for his work as a tutor and mentor for younger students. He was nominated by Stonewall Jackson High School Principal Mike Dorman. Hinkle is a junior at Stonewall Jackson and the school division’s student representative on the Parks and Recreation Advisory Board.