School and College News

School news
Rappahannock Electric Cooperative has rewarded outstanding student achievement with $1,000 LEARN scholarships to two area students.
This year’s recipients are Sean McDonald, a student at Clarke County High School, and Kierstan Tinsman, a student at Sherando High School.

College news
Cody Pippin George, of Woodstock, earned a bachelor’s degree in interdisc liberal studies on May 8 from James Madison University.

Molly Barb, a graduate of Central High School attending Shenandoah University, has earned Academic All-State honors for the second year in a row by the Virginia Sports Information Directors Association. She maintains a 4.0 grade point average.

Two students from Front Royal have graduated from Longwood University. They are Leah Jane Utz, who earned a master’s degree, and Christine Marie Heier, who earned a bachelor’s degree.

The following students were named to the dean’s list for the spring term at Longwood University:
Taylor Irene Embrey, of Maurertown; Eric Alexander Cline, of Middletown; Briana Kay Adhikusuma and Bethany Anne Walton, both of Stephens City; and Melissa Renee Cacho, of Woodstock.

Benjamin Snapp, of Winchester, earned an associate degree with honors in agricultural technology from Virginia Tech on May 15.

Two area students have been awarded scholarships from Shenandoah Telecommunications Company in partnership with the Virginia Cable Telecommunications Association and the Donald A. Perry Foundation.
Anahely Cruz, of New Market, received a $2,000 scholarship toward her tuition at Eastern Mennonite University.
Rebecca Andrews, of Strasburg, received a $1,000 scholarship. She is attending James Madison University as a junior in the fall.

The following students earned bachelor’s degrees on May 15 from Virginia Tech:

From Berryville: Allie Cain, with honors in international studies; Michaela Garrison, with honors in human development; Kristina Hagen, with great honors in English; Meredith Roberts, communication studies.

From Boyce: Emma Cohen, human development; Christopher Youngs, agricultural sciences.

From Winchester: Steven Barnett, with great honors in multimedia journalism; Alexandra Bazdar, with highest honors in psychology; William Crowe, engineering science and mechanics; Cameron Crowell, materials science and engineering; Alexandra Fritts, animal and poultry sciences; Stephen Patterson, with highest honors in mechanical engineering; Emma Ramsey, with honors in foreign languages; Samantha Ravn, residential environments and design; Priyanka Virmani, psychology; Jennifer Davison, theatre arts; Jessica Davison, theatre arts; Stuart Hupp, forest resources and environmental conservation; Jacob Lewis, human development; Sarah Lewis, with honors in psychology; Lily Nealon, human nutrition, foods and exercise; Lauren Parrish, with honors in biological sciences; Benjamin Reid, chemical engineering; Andrew Renner, accounting and information systems; Lyndsay Digman, with great honors in interior design; Nicholas Hebel, environmental science; Scott Johnson, geography; Elliot Shiben, meteorology.

From Middletown: Kelsey Green, human development; Israel Groves, with honors in industrial and systems engineering.

From Star Tannery: Paul Benedetto, mechanical engineering.

From Stephens City: Catherine Fravel, with honors in history;
Casey Haycocks, with great honors in marketing management; Melissa Marchand, landscape architecture; Katie Schroeder, wildlife conservation; Megan Sirbaugh, with honors in meteorology; Megan Sirbaugh, with great honors in geography; Stephanie Stewart, human nutrition, foods, and exercise; Stephanie Stewart, psychology; Sarah Wadkins, business management.

From Stephenson: Keagan Clevenger, with great honors in animal and poultry sciences.

From Maurertown: Virginia French, marketing management.

From Strasburg: Kaitlin Carter, with great honors in human development.

From Toms Brook: Avery Grabenstein, political science.

From Woodstock: Samuel Cross, animal and poultry sciences; Katherine Roulston, with great honors in fashion merchandising and design.

From Edinburg: Cole Baker, business management; Bryan Liskey, crop and soil environmental sciences.

From Mount Jackson: Dylan Dawson, agricultural sciences; Paul Delaughter, food science and technology; Paul Delaughter, psychology.

From New Market: Patrick McCampbell, packaging systems and design.

From Front Royal: Cameron Taylor, with honors in business marketing management; Hannah Graham, animal and poultry sciences; Ashley Horan, business management; Ryan Molka, mining engineering; Megan Tederick, business marketing management; Jeremy Vogt, mechanical engineering; Cody Zimmerman, mining engineering.

From Browntown: Kenneth Mathews, with honors in agricultural sciences.