Shentel announces scholarship recipients

Shenandoah Telecommunications Company has announced Strasburg resident Rebecca Andrews and New Market resident Anahely Cruz are among nine winners of its 2015 Virginia’s Future Leaders Scholarship Awards.

Andrews, who will begin her junior year at James Madison University this fall, has earned a $1,000 scholarship, and Cruz, a senior at Eastern Mennonite University, has received $2,000.

Other winners, from Rocky Mount, Christiansburg, Forest and Appomattox, won scholarships ranging from $1,000 to $2,500.

The Virginia Future Leaders Scholarship program is a statewide education initiative of the Virginia Cable industry. It has awarded more than $1 million in scholarships to Virginia students attending in-state colleges and universities over the last 15 years.

The scholarships were awarded in partnership with Virginia Cable Telecommunications Association and the Donald A. Perry Foundation. In total, 77 students from around Virginia earned scholarships.

For more information, visit http://www.vcta.com.