Community News & Events for March 10

Card shower
A card shower is planned for Phenie Spiker Russell, who will celebrate her 90th birthday Wednesday. Cards can be sent to 747 Ash St., Strasburg 22657.

VA Center
The director of the Martinsburg VA Medical Center will lead an open forum from 5:30 to 7 p.m. today in the Old Chapel for veterans to ask questions about any concerns with their health care.

Nurses meeting
Nurses who graduated from the Winchester Memorial Training School or have been employed at or retired from the hospital will hold their quarterly Dutch-treat luncheon meeting at 11 a.m. Monday at Golden Corral on Route 522 in Winchester. Information: 540-667-7953.

Teen board
The Teen Advisory Board, open to middle and high school students, will meet at 6 p.m. Monday at Bowman Library in Stephens City.
The group plans and presents events and advises on library materials. Information: Donna Hughes at 540-869-9000, ext. 215.

Pastor J.W. Smith Jr., of Clarksville, Indiana, will be the speaker for revival services Monday through Wednesday at Columbia Furnace Church of the Brethren in Edinburg. Praise and worship will start at 6:30 p.m. followed by the service at 7 p.m. Childcare will be available for children 6 and under.

4-H meeting
The New Market 4-H Club and Cloverbuds will meet at 6:30 p.m. Monday at Reformation Lutheran Church. Information: 459-6140.

Kiwanis club
Robert Wells with the Frederick County Board of Supervisors will be the speaker at the luncheon meeting of the Kiwanis Club of Old Town at noon Monday at the Godfrey Miller Home on the Old Town Mall. Information: Tessa Doherty at 540-247-2353.

Historical Society
Shenandoah County Library Archivist Zach Hottel will present a program on the library’s Truban Archives at the meeting of the Shenandoah County Historical Society at 7 p.m. at St. Paul’s Heritage Center, 106 S. High St., Edinburg. Refreshments will be served after the program. Parking is available at the Shentel lot.

Library activity
The Shenandoah County Library in Edinburg is asking area youth 5 and older to help create an agriculture-themed display at 4:30 p.m. Tuesday for the children’s area.

Rotary grant
March 31 is the deadline to apply for a community service grant given by the Rotary Club of Front Royal.\

Not-for-profit organizations whose activities promote and enhance the quality of life or citizens of Front Royal and Warren County may apply. The winner could receive up to $8,500. Applications are available by sending an email to Debra Morfit at debra.morfit@bankatunion.com, at www.frontroyalrotary.org or by writing to P.O. Box 85, Front Royal 22630.

School news
The following students at Peter Muhlenberg Middle School have been named to the all-A honor roll for the second grading period:

Eighth grade: Brett Barr, Erica Bauserman, Katty Becerra de Melo, John Byrd, Garrett Dean, Jennifer Flores Lopez, Jessica Flores Lopez, Gabrielle Fream, Margaret Haun, Bridget Holsinger, Audrey Johnston, Chase Rimel, Adele Roulston, Jordyn Ryman, Jamie Sfarnas, Jessie Sfarnas, Noel Shenk, Madison Smith, Olivia Wightman.

Seventh grade: Emma Boyden, Lauryn Jansen, Aliyah Kibler, Michelle Kim, Madeline Lopes, Peyton McCarthy, Taylor Ray, Brookelyn Strosnider, Ann Katharine Walsh.

Sixth grade: Cheyenne Estep, Erika Grant, Hannah Hollingsworth, Elizabeth Jeffrey, Tercero Lopez, Kolbe Osarchuk, Sia Patel, Nathan Poole, Ericka Provenzano, Parker Sheetz, Bailey Spiggle, Alejandro Spitler-Montez, Jacob Walters.

The following students at Peter Muhlenberg Middle School have been named to the A-B honor roll for the second grading period:

Eighth grade: Cameron Baker, Juliana Baker, Shelby Baker, Aryana Barb, Gabriel Barb, Cassidy Barrett, Haillee Bodge, Lindsey Borge Mora, Destiny Bowman, Riley Brannan, Natalie Broy, Hannah Burke, Chloee Burton, Johnathan Cardoso, Madison Chapman, Clarissa Cook, Garrett Cooke, Jenna Deane, Adam Dirting, Keirsten Dodson, Ciara Fadeley, Isabelle Funkhouser, Riley Gardiner, Kyle Gutshall, Lindsey Hamrick, Stephen Happ, Emma Hockman, Judith Hoffman, Caroline Holsinger, Jordan Hoover, Seth Horn, Lillian Jansen, Emily Jayne, Kate Kibler, Charlotte Lapuz, Kerington Lear, Maria Marston, Stephen McCarthy, Melanie McDonald, Olivia Meadows, Faith Morrison, Tanner Mullins, Shannon Nicely, Austin Nicholson, Bryan Nicholson, Katlyn Orndorff, Renee Ridgley, Silas Ruhling, Hannah Ryman, Mackenzie Ryman, Lucy Schreiber, Garret Secrist, Landon Shockey, Madisan Tingler, Jessica Tracy, Jose Trujillo Barron, Jeremy Viar, Henry Wakeman, Sarah Walters, Corey Weeks, Kaaliyah Williams, Solomon Wilson.

Seventh grade: Emily Bowman, Tiffany Bui, Jaclyn Cardoso, Kelle Coronado Orozco, Lorenzo DiRoberto, Ashley Dodd, Kathryn France, Kaitlyn Funk, Landon George, Dilara Getz, Clifton Grant III, Chandler Henry, Morgan Hollar, Caleb Holloman, Rosalina Holloway-Vicente, Laurel Holsinger, Maxwell Hoover, Jasmine Jimenez, Danielle Klinko, Ashlynn Lambert, Eve Manning, Jazmin Martinez, Christian May, Trevor Moton, Saige Palmer, Emily Poole, Shawn Purdy, Heather Raley, Joseph-Jaime Reynoso, Kristiana Rodriguez, Andrew Scibelli, Alexander Smith, Haven Stevens, Dylan Summitt, Alyssa Thorpe, Haleigh Vernon.

Sixth grade: Leslie Angel Lopez, Ashton Baker, Ryan Barr, Michaela Black, Hannah Borden, Quinton Breighner, Emily Burner, Brianna Cooper, Caleb Daugherty, Jacob Dirting, Zachary Dysart, Taloun Ferris, Luiz Flores Lopez, Alexis Forbes, Hunter Frazier, Emily Funkhouser, Nicholas Funkhouser, Rebecca Furr, Jonathan Goodrich, Brandon Gwyn, Olivia Harris, Ramsey Hoover, Kelsey Hoskinson, Erika Hutton, Samuel Cohen Jimenez, Samuel Johnson, Jolene Lopez, Viliane Luyando Disdier, Grace May, Aiden Mercer, Samuel Metcalf, Nicholas Mills, Fiona Mitchell, Brandon Montes Moreno, Murray Moore, Daniel O’Leary Mulcahy, Emily Neff, Kelly Reynoso, Tyler Rice, Lindsey Rigby, Owen Rimel, Bailee Roberts, Christian Ross, Joseph Scruggs. Raven Shifflett, Claire Shirkey, Elias Sorto Rojas, Brianna Spence, Ella Toothman, Rachel Tusing, Luis Vargas Bonilla, Jasmine Wakeman, Alexus Waters.


Events submissions
Send in your events to events@nvdaily.com and your news to news@nvdaily.com.