SVEC scholarships awarded to students

Shenandoah Valley Electric Cooperative has announced the 10 winners of its 22nd annual scholarships, in the amount of $1,000 each. Five students live in the Northern Shenandoah Valley.

Abigail Blase attends James Wood High School, Nora Burgess attends John Handley High School, Savannah Hepner attends Spotswood High School, and Julia Halbersma and Tyler Morris attend Sherando High School. The 10 winners were chosen from a pool of 70 applications that SVEC received from 22 different area high schools.

To be considered for the SVEC scholarship, the student’s parent or guardian needs to be a member/owner of the Cooperative. Abigail Blase is the daughter of Bradley and Elizabeth Blase of Winchester, Nora Burgess is the daughter of Phebe Burgess of Winchester, Julia Halbersma is the daughter of Ross and Patti Halbersma of Stephens City; Savannah Hepner is the daughter of Gary and Cynthia Hepner of Harrisonburg, and Tyler Morris is the son of Donald and Shellie Morris of Winchester.

A six-person scholarship committee reviewed the students’ essays, letters of recommendation, participation in school and community activities, high school classes attended, and the grade-point average earned.

Since 1992, SVEC has awarded scholarships to deserving high school seniors in the region that it serves. These students have earned the scholarships with excellence in the classroom, extracurricular activities, and contributions to the community.