R-MA awards staff, alumni at luncheon

During Randolph-Macon Academy’s alumni luncheon on Oct. 12, several awards were given in recognition of the dedication and accomplishments of various alumni and staff members.

The R-MA Staff Recognition Award was awarded to Middletown resident Lt Col R.G. McManus, a 1980 graduate of R-MA and the head of the Aerospace Department at the Academy. The award is based on the various roles each faculty and staff member at the academy plays and the guidance, preparation and tools each gives his or her students to succeed in life. Under McManus’ leadership, the Air Force Junior Reserve Officer Training Corps at R-MA has earned U.S. Air Force Distinguished Unit Award with Merit multiple times.

The Class Agent of the Year was based on two main factors: consistency of service and innovation as a class agent. In reviewing both factors, the Alumni Association Board named two R-MA class agents as recipients of the award for 2013: Fred Greenwood of Jersey City, N.J., a member of the class of 1973; and Michael Starling of Virginia Beach, class of 1988.

Greenwood raised the money to add a third bench to the top of Riddick Field last year as a campaign to gain support for the class and this year’s reunion. This year he set up several events for his reunion class and mobilized a scholarship fund to pursue in honor of their 40th reunion.

Starling was recognized for spearheading a great reunion committee, which set-up their reunion event, contacted all of their classmates and achieved their goal for an already-established scholarship, the Phillip J. Flagg Class of 1988 Scholarship. (Flagg was 1988 graduate of R-MA and a police officer who was killed in the line of duty in 1992.) During the luncheon, the class of 1988 presented R-MA President Maj. Gen. Maury Forsyth, USAF Retired, with a check for $15,450.88 to add to the Flagg Scholarship.

The Byron C. Gayle ’50 Dedicated Service Award went to 1977 R-MA graduate Joseph Silek of Front Royal, who is currently the chairman of the R-MA Board of Trustees, for his efforts to continue to put R-MA on the trajectory for further success. The award is given to an individual who is consistent, outstanding and dedicated in his service to the academy and the community.

The 2013 Distinguished Alumni Award went to class of 1951 member Joel W. Shankle of Culpeper.

The Alumni Association also voted in the new slate of officers and welcomed several new individuals to the board. H. Scarlett Kibler of Winchester, class of 1989, was re-elected president and Shawn Archer, class of 1991, was re-elected to the board. R. Kyle McDaniel of Springfield, class of 2007, was elected vice president. Robert “Bo” Snitchler of Silver Spring, Md., class of 2006, was elected secretary/treasurer. New members voted onto the board included Roan Webb of Front Royal and Clifton Edwards of Strasburg, both class of 1973, and Jared Purcell of Richmond, class of 2012.