Hoopers Auto Club announces award winners

The Hoppers Auto Club of Frederick County recently held its 55th annual awards banquet. It’s the oldest of its type in Virginia and one of the oldest in the country.

Attending the event were two original founding members Joe Patterson, still active in the club, and Donald Fiddler now of Forest, Va.

They as well as Larry Fiddler and Earl VanMeter formed the club on Jan. 5, 1959.

Fred Cheshire won the Walter “Joe” Patterson Outstanding Member of the Year Award, the Project Chairman of the Year Award and the Perfect Attendance award, with Jim Young coming in second.

The Presidents Key Man Award was given to Treasurer Harold Ruckman.

Non-member Workmanship Awards were presented to Debbie Williams and Bailey Combs for their help on the club’s annual car show.

Monte Hounshell won first place among the Activity Points Award recipients; Cheshire came in second and Eddy Strosnider third.

Special recognitions were presented to Marie Clary and Debbie and Danny Boyce for the Relay for Life Car Show, and Kym Hess, Marie Cheshire, Rusky Combs and Rick Combs for car shows.

The award ceremony also included the installation of this year’s officers.

Ted Morgan was elected president, Fred Cheshire vice president, Eddy Strosnider and Harold Ruckman secretaries and Sgt.-at-Arms Monte Hounshell treasurer.

Joe Patterson, Jim Young and Bobby Zydelis were elected board members.

The Hoppers Auto Club meets on the first Thursday of each month at the club’s shop and club house, 287 Old Bethel Church Road in Frederick County. Information: 304-261-1303