Area Apple Blossom Festival princesses chosen

The selection of princesses to serve in the Court of Queen Shenandoah LXXXVII for the 2014 Shenandoah Apple Blossom Festival has been announced by festival officials. The princesses include Selah Patricia Applin, Caitlin Grace Bunker, Hannah Rose Clinedinst, Savannah Caldwell Dillender, Aysha Malik and Alisianna Dawn Swisher.

Selah Applin will represent Massanutten Military Academy in Woodstock, where she is a senior. Selah is the daughter of Seila Applin of Woodbridge. At Massanutten she is on the Gold Eagle honor roll, is vice president of the Interact Club and is on the Cadet Life, dance and yearbook committees. Applin is a three-sport athlete. She was MVP in track and field and basketball. She was captain of the volleyball team and was named female athlete of the year for volleyball and basketball. Applin earned the U.S. Army Commandants Scholastic Excellence and Distinguished Athlete/Semper Fidelis awards.

Caitlin Bunker will represent Randolph-Macon Academy in Front Royal, where she is a senior. Caitlin is the daughter of Dr. Susan Gawalt and Rev. Jonathan Bunker of Berryville. She is the granddaughter of Jane and Gerard Gawalt of Springfield, and Vicki and Russ Bunker of Gilby, N.D. At Randolph Macon she is a member of the National Honor Society, English Honor Society and Spanish Honor Society. Bunker is a three sports varsity athlete, lettering in basketball, softball and volleyball. She was captain of the volleyball and basketball teams her sophomore year and named on the DAC All-Conference team her senior year. She is JROTC Cadet Captain Group commander of support.

Hannah Clinedinst is representing Lord Fairfax Community College in Middletown, where she is a sophomore majoring in general studies. Clinedinst is the daughter of Sheila and Gary Clinedinst of Strasburg. She is the granddaughter of the late Rosetta and Eddie Grandison and the late Treva and Willie Clinedinst. She is a 2012 graduate of Strasburg High School where she had perfect attendance 2007-2012. She was a two sport athlete, was All State Hurdler 2009-2012, and district, region and state cheerleading champion in 2010. She likes riding bikes, running, watching football, basketball and baseball.

Savannah Dillender is representing the Virginia Horticultural Society. She attends Lord Fairfax Community College in Middletown, where she is a junior majoring in nursing. Savannah is the daughter of Holly and Sam Dillender of Winchester. She is the granddaughter of Frances and Samuel Dillender of Winston-Salem, N.C., and the late Gladys and Henry Brumback. She has an associates degree in science and American degree — FFA and is a hospice volunteer. She enjoys photography.

Aysha Malik is representing Shenandoah University in Winchester, where she is a senior majoring in mass communications and her minor is entrepreneurship. Malik is the daughter of Samina and Naveed Malik of Germantown, Md. She is the president of Sigma Alpha lota, Gamma Gamma chapter, 2013-2014 and the founding father, Alpha Kappa PSI, PSI Delta chapter, 2012-2013. She is the staff writer for the Doah Newspaper, 2011-2014. She is SGA press secretary, 2012-2014, and a member of Alpha Lambda Delta, Tri-M Music Society and Thespian Honors Society.

Alisianna Swisher is representing Potomac State College of West Virginia University, where she is a sophomore majoring in communications. Swisher is the daughter of Jamee and Shawn Swisher of Canton, Ohio. She played softball her freshman and sophomore years of high school. She was captain of the Powder Puff Football Team her junior and senior years of high school. She is secretary and treasurer of the Student Government Association and chairperson of the Finance Committee.

The princesses will accompany Queen Shenandoah LXXXVII and her court to all festival functions throughout the 87th festival, scheduled for April 25 to May 4. They will participate in the coronation ceremony to be held at 1:30 p.m., May 2 at John Handley High School. They will ride on the Royal Float in the Grand Feature Parade scheduled to begin at 1:30 p.m., May 3.