Area students recognized at Tech commencement

The following Virginia Tech students were among those honored at the university’s spring commencement ceremony held May 16 at Lane Stadium in Blacksburg:

From Front Royal: Monica Beam, Kathleen Berry, Hannah Bever, Sean Gimber, Alexander Harrison, Andrew Hildebrandt, Shannon Hoverter, Tyler Siever, Andrew Updike and Stephen Young.

From Linden: William Hoffmaster and Madeline Leonard.

From Maurertown: Matthew Pangle.

From Strasburg: Rachel Sager.

From Woodstock: Nolan Burch, Elizabeth Haydu, Rachel Leeth, Mariah Price and Courtney Scaggs.

From Edinburg: Cody Barb, Dyllan Chapins, Michael Marston and Lucas Waller.

From Mount Jackson: Aaron Heishman.

From Cross Junction: Lauryl Andrus.

From Middletown: Andrew Schurtz.

From Stephens City: Matthew Brady, Adam Compton, Alyson Howard, Danielle Lewis and Lukas Stump.

From Winchester: Taryn Burke, Grant Morrison, Ian Rutherford, Kristin Sorenson, Nikolay Burns, Andrew Hemmen, Michael Lewis, Kenneth Maben, Shanae Mobley, Deanna Shenk, Sierra Athey, Molly Oudekerk, Lacey Williamson and Michael McIntire.

From Berryville: Emily Ashby, Emily Hagen, Neil Houliston, Carl Jackson, Katherine Orndorff, William Parker, Ronald Pelkey and Karoline Seekford.

From Boyce: Casey Maynard.

From White Post: Zachary Moran.