nvdaily.com link to home page

Traffic | Weather | Mobile Edition
      Archives | Subscribe

Local News arrow Alex Bridges arrow Politics

| 0

Counties set ballots for November elections

By Alex Bridges

The slates of candidates running in local elections appear set.

Candidates had until close of business Tuesday to file the necessary paperwork with voter registration offices to appear on the ballots in the Nov. 5 general elections.

Voters in Shenandoah County's District 4 have three candidates seeking the Board of Supervisors seat, according to information from General Registrar Lisa McDonald.

Cindy Miller Bailey is running as an independent candidate for the seat held currently by Supervisor Sharon Baroncelli, who did not seek election to a third term. The Republican Party of Shenandoah County chose former School Board member Steven P. Shaffer to run for the seat. The local Democratic Party selected Emily Garnett Scott for the race. Messages with the county Democratic Party were not returned for comment Thursday.

The District 5 contest comes down to Supervisor Dennis M. Morris and newcomer Marsha E. Shruntz. Morris represents the Republican Party in his bid to serve another term on the board. Shruntz is running as an independent candidate for the seat.

District 1 Supervisor John R. "Dick" Neese, also a Republican, is running unopposed for another term.

Shenandoah County will hold elections for the same three district seats on the School Board. Karen Stultz Whetsel is seeking re-election to District 1. Katheryn A. Freakley is running for the District 4 seat. Irving L. "Skeeter" Getz is seeking re-election to the District 5 seat. Board Chairman Gary L. Rutz did not file to seek re-election to serve District 4.

Warren County will hold a special election to fill the office of the commissioner of the revenue. Independent candidates Roy K. Boyles and Sherry T. Sours, and Republican Party candidate Mike D. McCool filed and qualified to run in the special election, said General Registrar Carol Tobin.

The county appointed Sours to lead the office shortly after the unexpected death of longtime Commissioner of the Revenue John Smedley Sr. Both Sours and Boyles have worked in the office for years. The state Board of Elections still must certify the slate of candidates for the county elections, Tobin explained.

"There's still a process in place for them to get on the ballot," Tobin said.

The county will hold a general election for seats on the Board of Supervisors and School Board. Supervisors Archie A. Fox and Tony F. Carter qualified to run for re-election to serve the Fork and Happy Creek districts. Catherine R. Bower and James S. Wells qualified to run for re-election to serve the Fork and Happy Creek districts on the School Board. None of the candidates face challengers.

Frederick County will hold a general election for seats in three districts on both the Board of Supervisors and the School Board. Information from General Registrar Rick Miller shows that Supervisors Charles S. Dehaven Jr., Christopher E. Collins and Gene E. Fisher seek re-election to their seats serving the districts of Stonewall, Red Bud and Shawnee, respectively. All three candidates are Republicans and were the only ones to file and qualify for election.

Current School Board members Frank E. Wright, Mary M. "Peggy" Clark and John J. Lamanna seek re-election to their seats serving the districts of Stonewall, Red Bud and Shawnee, respectively. All candidates qualified to appear on the ballot.

Frederick County will hold special elections to fill the office of Commonwealth's Attorney as well as seats on the Board of Supervisors representing the Gainesboro and Opequon districts. Frederick County also will hold a special election for one seat on the Middletown Town Council.

Candidates seeking to run in Frederick County's special elections on Nov. 5 have until Aug. 16 to file their papers, Miller said.

Commonwealth's Attorney Ross Spicer and Gainesboro Supervisor Robert A. Hess, both appointed to their positions, filed and qualified to run for election to the offices. No one had filed papers to seek election to the other two positions or to challenge Spicer or Hess.

Contact staff writer Alex Bridges at 540-465-5137 ext. 125, or abridges@nvdaily.com


Comments that are posted represent the opinion of the commenter and not the Northern Virginia Daily/nvdaily.com. View our comments/submisssions policy. Report abuse by clicking the X next to the comment.

Local News Sections

Agency on Aging Agriculture Alex Bridges Apple Blossom Festival Aviation Basye Berryville Boyce Breaking News Briefs Business Charities Civil War Clarke County Colleges Corrections Courthouse Notes: Permits, Transactions Courts & Legal News Crime & Public Safety Economy and Jobs Edinburg Education Edward N. Bell Election 2012 Entertainment Environment Fairs & Festivals Fire & Rescue Fishers Hill Fort Valley Frederick County Front Royal George Washington National Forest Guest Column Hard Times Health History Holidays Homes In The Spotlight Jeff Nations Joe Beck Josette Keelor Kim Walter Ledger Livestock Local Markets Maurertown Media Middletown Military & Veterans Moms Mt. Jackson New Market Page County Pets & Animals Politics Progress 2013 Quicksburg Religion Rockingham County RSW Jail Ryan Cornell School News Shenandoah County Shenandoah Farms Volunteer Fire Department Star Tannery State Stephens City Steven A. Boyce Strasburg Toms Brook Traffic & Transportation Utilities Valley 911 Warren County Weather West Virginia Winchester Woodstock Year in Review

News | Sports | Business | Lifestyle | Obituaries | Opinion | Multimedia| Entertainment | Classifieds
Contact Us | NIE | Place a Classified | Privacy Policy | Comments/Submissions Policy | Subscribe

Copyright © The Northern Virginia Daily | nvdaily.com | 152 N. Holliday St., Strasburg, Va. 22657 | (800) 296-5137

2013 Virginia Press Association Sweepstakes Winner
The Best Small Daily Newspaper in Virginia!

nvdaily.com | seeshenandoah.com