Electric Cooperative awards student scholarships

Daily staff report

Shenandoah Valley Electric Cooperative announced 10 scholarship winners of $1,000 — including students in the Northern Shenandoah Valley.

The winners, who were announced in a SVEC press release, include James Wood High School student Abigail Blase, John Handley High School student Michelle Fultz, Sherando High School students Julia Halbersma and Tyler Morris, among others from the SVEC coverage area.

The 10 winners were chosen from a pool of 70 applications that SVEC received from 22 different area high schools, according to the release.

“Part of SVEC’s dedication to its communities is making an investment in the youth,” SVEC president & CEO Myron D. Rummel said in the release. “With these scholarships, we hope to reduce the burden on students looking to further their education, and in turn, help the community.”