Sherwood, May lose; Gilbert remains

By Alex Bridges

Political newcomers defeated two of the region’s veteran Republican Party delegates in primaries Tuesday, according to unofficial results.

Mark J. Berg defeated Del. Beverly J. Sherwood for the 29th District. Dave LaRock defeated Senior Republican Joe May for the 33rd District, according to unofficial results from the Virginia State Board of Elections.

Both May and Sherwood lost their bids to run for their 11th terms. The outcomes mean Berg and LaRock will represent the party on the ballot along with Del. C. Todd Gilbert in the regular election Nov. 5.

Gilbert fended off challenger Mark W. Prince for the 15th District. Gilbert, of Woodstock, received 92.09 percent of the votes compared to Prince, of Toms Brook, who received 7.91 percent of the votes.

Berg received 51.27 percent of the votes cast in the primary for the 29th District in the House of Delegates. Sherwood received 48.73 percent.

Unofficial results show voters in Warren County gave Berg a resounding lead that contributed to his win. He received 65.99 percent of the votes to 34.01 percent for Sherwood. He also received slightly more votes than Sherwood in Frederick County but the incumbent won Winchester by a small margin.

LaRock received 57.35 percent of the votes compared to May’s 42.65. LaRock soundly defeated the veteran delegate with leads in all three counties. LaRock received the most support from Frederick County.

A total of 3,969 votes were cast in the 15th District race. Unofficial results for the 15th District race showed Prince received the most support in Warren County compared to Page, Rockingham and Shenandoah counties.

The State Board of Elections experienced delays in reporting results. The agency reported technical problems with its website before 9 p.m. and could not post unofficial election results for the delegates primaries.

The party did not hold a primary for the 18th District, represented by Del. Michael J. Webert, R-Warrenton, because he had no challengers. Webert’s district includes part of Warren County.

Contact staff writer Alex Bridges at 540-465-5137 ext. 125, or abridges@nvdaily.com