Valley voters set to pick candidates in primary

By Alex Bridges

Voters across the northern Shenandoah Valley can vote in primaries Tuesday to determine who appears on election ballots in November.

The choices in either the Democratic or Republican Party primaries can depend on the registered voter’s state district and precinct. Voters may choose to cast ballots in either primary. Polls open at 6 a.m. and close at 7 p.m.

Voters in the Northern Shenandoah Valley can participate in either the Democratic or Republican Party primaries. The Democratic Party of Virginia picked its candidate for governor but will hold primaries to determine which candidates for the lieutenant governor and the attorney general appear on the ballot in November. Voters who choose to participate in the Democratic Party primary may pick between Ralph S. Northam and Aneesh Chopra to run for lieutenant governor and between Mark R. Herring and Justin E. Fairfax for attorney general.

The Republican Party of Virginia chose its slate of candidates for governor, lieutenant governor and attorney general by convention. But voters in the Northern Shenandoah Valley can participate in the Republican Party primary to choose candidates for the House of Delegates races.

Shenandoah County

Del. C. Todd Gilbert faces challenger Mark W. Prince to seek election to the 15th District that covers all of Page and Shenandoah counties, and parts of Warren and Rockingham counties. Voters in all county precincts who choose to vote in the Republican Party primary may cast ballots in this election.

Warren County

Warren County is split among the 15th, 18th and 29th Districts in the House of Delegates.
Del. Beverly J. Sherwood faces challenger Mark Berg to seek election to the 29th District, which covers all of Winchester and parts of Frederick and Warren counties.

General Registrar Carol Tobin explained that some voters also live in precincts split between districts. Voters in the Fork Town precinct either vote in the 15th or the 29th District.

Otterburn, South River, Bentonville and Browntown precincts are represented by the 15th House District. North River, Riverton and Town West Shenandoah precincts are represented by the 29th House District.

Del. Michael Webert, R-Warrenton, who represents the 18th District, is unchallenged and does not appear on the primary ballot.

Frederick County

Del. Joe T. May faces challenger Dave A. LaRock to seek election to the 33rd District, which covers parts of Clarke, Frederick and Loudoun counties.

In the Republican Party primary, Frederick County voters may choose candidates to run for election in the 29th and 33rd Districts in the House of Delegates. Voters in the following precincts can vote for a candidate in the 29th District: Russells, Gore, Kernstown, Cedar Creek, Gainesborough, Albin, Redland, Nain, White Hall, Stephens City, Newtown and Canterburg.

Frederick County voters in the precincts of Clear Brook, Neff’s Town, Millbrook, Ash Hollow and Greenwood may vote for a candidate in the 33rd District of the House of Delegates.

Frederick County precincts in the 10th District of the House of Delegates – Carpers Valley, Shenandoah, Parkin’s Mill and Armel – do not have a Republican Party primary. Del. J. Randall “Randy” Minchew, R-Leesburg, represents the 10th District and had no Republican Party challengers.

Frederick County General Registrar Rick Miller advised voters that public schools serve as polling places for 18 of the county’s 21 precincts. Schools are in session on Tuesday and, with staff and students in attendance, parking may be limited. Buses drop off and pick up students from 7 a.m. to 9 a.m., 11 a.m. to 1 p.m., and 2 p.m. to 4 p.m.

Voters must present an acceptable form of identification to vote, per legislation passed this spring by the Virginia General Assembly. All voters must declare to poll-book officers of election in which of the two party primaries they wish to vote. State election law prohibits any voter from voting in more than one primary on the same day. The voter must make this declaration before he or she is qualified for the chosen primary. State law does not allow write-ins for primaries.

Any of the following forms of identification are acceptable:

  • State-issued voter registration card
  • Social Security card
  • Valid Virginia driver’s license within 30 days of expiration
  • Concealed handgun permit or any other identification card issued by a Virginia government agency, one of its political subdivisions or the United States
  • A valid student identification card issued by an institution of higher education in Virginia
  • A valid employee identification card containing the voter’s photograph issued by the employer
  • A copy of a current utility bill, bank statement, government check or paycheck that shows the name and address of the voter

Voters in the correct precinct but who do not have an acceptable form of identification shall be offered a provisional ballot on which to vote. Provisional voters receive a written notice to inform them that a determination of their right to vote shall be made by the electoral board; to advise the voter of the beginning time and place for the board’s meeting; and of the voter’s right to be present at that meeting, and inform a voter voting provisionally that they need to submit a copy of one of the forms of identification listed above to the electoral board by facsimile, electronic mail, in-person submission, or timely U.S. Postal Service or commercial mail delivery, to be received by the electoral board no later than noon on the third day after the election, in order for their vote to be counted.

Voters eligible to vote absentee for the primary may do so in person at their county general registrar’s office no later than Saturday. The state has required registrars open their offices for eight hours on Saturday. The State Board of Elections advises voters to contact their local registrar’s office to confirm Saturday hours.

Visit www.sbe.virginia.gov for a list of candidates in all races, eligibility requirements to vote absentee and necessary forms of identification. Contact the State Board of Elections at 1-800-552-9745 for more information.

Contact staff writer Alex Bridges at 540-465-5137 ext. 125, or abridges@nvdaily.com