Business ledger

Brett Wightman of Edinburg has been honored as a state winner in the 2013 National Corn Yield Contest. He placed second in the state in the Irrigated class with a yield of 271.06 bushels per acre.

James Brumbaugh and Jennifer VanCuren, professors at Lord Fairfax Community College, have won 2014 adviser awards from the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society. Brumbaugh is receiving a Continued Excellence Award and VanCuren is receiving a Paragon Award for New Advisers. The Continued Excellence Award recognizes advisers who have served at least four years and have previously won a Distinguished Adviser Award. The Paragon Award for New Advisers is given to those who have served for less than four years.

The Willows at Meadow Branch, an assisted living and memory care community in Winchester, has earned the Caring Stars 2014 Award for service excellence. The community is one of 400 chosen from across the U.S. for the award and was chosen based on consumer ratings and reviews posted on the senior care website caring.com.

Kennametal Inc. has announced that its facility in New Market, which manufactures lathe tooling such as tool holders and boring bars, has achieved the safety milestone of one million consecutive working hours without a day away or restricted time incident, setting a new facility record. The facility and its over 100 employees began its safe work-hour streak in Oct. 2008.

First Bank has recognized Kim Ryman as its 2013 Employee of the Year and Sarah Sandy and Kim Gibson as its 2013 STAR Performers. Ryman started with the company in April 2006 as the branch manager in Woodstock, and currently oversees three locations in Shenandoah County. Sandy began with First Bank in January 2005 as a banking associate, transferred to the customer accounts department and has since been promoted to the senior customer accounts representative. Gibson started with the bank in 2003 as a proof operator and has since been promoted to the item processing manager.

Bonnie Henry, Kay Muterspaugh and K.C. Cammer of RE/MAX Team Realty have all received the RE/MAX organization’s 100 Percent Club Award for outstanding sales achievement in 2013. Henry is a member of the RE/MAX Hall of Fame, the Blue Ridge Association of Realtors Hall of Fame and is a past recipient of the RE/MAX Lifetime Achievement Award. Muterspaugh is a member of the RE/MAX Hall of Fame and the Blue Ridge Association of Realtors Hall of Fame. Cammer was recently awarded with the Director’s Award for 2013, which is given to members with sales volume between $3 million and $4.9 million.

Skyline Team Real Estate has recognized Robin Gochenour as top producer, Gary Rutz as top selling agent and Sandra Fitchett and Larry Turner as top listers for March.

The U.S. Department of Agriculture has announced that farmers and ranchers can sign up for disaster assistance programs beginning Tuesday. The Livestock Indemnity Program and the Livestock Forage Disaster Program will provide payments to eligible producers for livestock deaths and grazing losses that have occurred since the expiration of the livestock disaster assistance program in 2011, and including calendar years, 2012, 2013 and 2014. Enrollment also begins on Tuesday for producers with losses covered by the Emergency Assistance for Livestock, Honeybees and Farm-Raised Fish Program and the Tree Assistance Program. For more information, farmers are encouraged to visit their local Farm Service Agency office.