Four seek seats on New Market council

By Alex Bridges

New Market voters go to the polls Tuesday to choose from four people vying for three seats on Town Council.

Councilmen John H. Blosser and Gary D. Comer are seeking re-election. Blosser has served on council since 2002 though he served a four-year term in the 1970s. Comer has served on council since 1998 but also in the 1980s.

Councilwoman Peggy L. Harkness was appointed by council in 2012 to fill a vacancy created when then Councilman Douglas Bradley defeated Larry Smith for town mayor. Harkness filled out the remaining two years of Bradley’s term. Former Councilman James E. Stroop Jr. is also seeking to return to council.

Edinburg races for mayor and three seats on Town Council are uncontested. Mayor Daniel J. Harshman is running for re-election as are Council members Bradley Mark Dellinger, Steven D. Wood and Fay M. Wyner.

Woodstock Mayor Jeremy D. McCleary is running unopposed for his position. Council members A. Paje Cross, Frank H. Haun and Stephen D. Heishman are running unopposed for re-election.

Contact staff writer Alex Bridges at 540-465-5137 ext. 125, or abridges@nvdaily.com