Shenandoah County election ballot offers many choices

Shenandoah County voters face a crowded ballot of hopefuls running in this year’s local election.

Multiple candidates filed the necessary paperwork with the voter registrar’s office by the Tuesday deadline to appear on the ballot Nov. 3.

The election for a new circuit court clerk attracted the most candidates since longtime Clerk Denise Estep does not plan to run for another eight-year term in the constitutional office. David A. George won the Republican Committee’s nomination to run as the party’s candidate. Chief Deputy Clerk Sarona S. Irvin, who lost to George for the nomination, is running as an independent candidate for the position. Tammy L. Heishman, clerk of the Shenandoah County General District Court, and Lisa M. Long, who worked in the court system and now in the commonwealth’s attorney’s office are also running as independent candidates. Adam M. Sharp is running for the office as the Shenandoah County Democratic Committee’s candidate.

The races for three seats on the Board of Supervisors also attracted many newcomers to challenge incumbents. District 6 Supervisor Conrad Helsley will defend his seat against Republican Party candidate S. John Massoud, owner of taxi companies in Northern Virginia. Helsley will run as an independent candidate, having chosen earlier this year to not seek the Republican Party nomination.

The race for District 6 also has drawn two other independent candidates – Strasburg Town Councilman Robert B. “Bob” Baker and former Councilwoman Sarah K. Mauck.

In the other board races, District 2 Supervisor Steven A. Baker will run for another term on the Republican Party ticket, facing a challenge from poultry farmer and independent candidate Michael N. Wakeman. District 3 Supervisor David E. Ferguson, a Republican, will run for another term against independent candidate Richard R. Walker.

Voters will choose candidates for three seats on the School Board. Chairman R.L. “Rick” Koontz will seek another term on the board representing District 2. He faces a challenge from Barbara C. Bliss and Joanie B. Hovatter.

Kathryn Holsinger’s decision not to run for another term representing District 3 attracted three people to vie for the seat – Roger Barbee, Cyndy D. Walsh and Steve D. Wood.

District 6 representative Sonya L. Williams-Giersch will seek another term. She faces a challenge from Van C. Holmes III.

Commonwealth’s Attorney Amanda Wiseley is seeking a second term as the county’s chief prosecutor. Wiseley will face Republican Party challenger Chad A. Logan, an assistant prosecutor with the Rockingham County Commonwealth’s Attorney.

Sheriff Timothy C. Carter, Commissioner of Revenue Kathy A. Black and Treasurer Cindy A. George are running unopposed for their positions. Carter and Black are Republicans. George is a Democrat.

Joan M. Comanor and Mary L. Gessner are seeking re-election to the Soil and Water Conservation Board of Directors for the Lord Fairfax District. They are running unopposed.

Contact staff writer Alex Bridges at 540-465-5137 ext. 125, or abridges@nvdaily.com