Warren County ballot features contested races

Warren County voters can expect to see choices for some local races in this year’s election.

The ballot for the Nov. 3 general election is essentially set. The deadline to file with the voter registrar’s office was Tuesday. Several races attracted more than one candidate.

Shenandoah District Supervisor Richard Traczyk does not plan to run for another term. Former Front Royal Town Councilman Thomas H. Sayre won the Warren County Republican Committee’s nomination in April to run as the party’s candidate for the position. Ralph A. Rinaldi, a member of the county Planning Commission, lost to Sayre by 25 votes but launched an independent bid for the board seat. Dee A. Schools also plans to vie for the board seat as an independent candidate.

North River District Supervisor Daniel J. Murray Jr. will face a challenge from N. Shae Parker, a former Front Royal Town Council member. Murray represents the Republican Party while Parker is running as the Democratic Party candidate.

School Board member Joanne F. Cherefko does not plan to run for another term as the South River District representative. Shawn R. McClosky and Donna L. McEathron will run for the seat.

Front Royal Town Councilman Daryl L. Funk is running for the Warren County Circuit Court clerk’s office. Funk is the Republican Party candidate. Rhonda S. North, town clerk for Middleburg, is running for the office as an independent candidate. Longtime Clerk Jennifer Sims chose not to run for another eight-year term.

Commissioner of Revenue Sherry T. Sours will seek re-election and her first four-year term in the constitutional office. Sours is running as an independent candidate. François Flippen will challenge Sours as the Republican Party candidate. Sours was chosen to fill the seat in a special election after longtime Commissioner John Smedley Sr. died unexpectedly halfway through his term.

The following candidates are running unopposed for their offices:

  • Commonwealth’s Attorney Brian Madden
  • Sheriff Daniel T. McEathron
  • Treasurer Wanda F. Bryant
  • South River District Supervisor Linda P. Glavis
  • North River District School Board member Arnold M. Williams Jr.
  • Shenandoah District School Board member C. Douglas Rosen
  • Soil and Water Conservation District Board members Richard W. Hoover and Ira B. Richards III

Contact staff writer Alex Bridges at 540-465-5137 ext. 125, or abridges@nvdaily.com