Millholland wins Frederick sheriff’s race

Frederick County voters Tuesday chose L.W. “Lenny” Holland, to succeed long time Sheriff Robert Williamson, who is retiring at the end of the year.

With all precincts reporting, unofficial returns showed Millholland, an independent, had captured 44 percent of the vote. Republican Terrance Bohan trailed with 39 percent. A.S. “Scott” Madigan was third with 16 percent.

Other winning candidates in contested Frederick County races included incumbent Republican Gary Lofton, who received 51 percent of the vote in the Board of Supervisors Back Creek District. Shawn Graber, an independent, was close behind with 49 percent.

In the Red Bud District, Republican Blaine Dunn won 59 percent of the vote. Jason Ransom trailed with 40 percent.

Charles S. DeHaven Jr. ran unopposed for the at large seat on the Board of Supervisors. Robert “Bob” Hess was unopposed in the Gainsboro District and Robert “Bob” Wells had no opponent in the Opequon District.

In school board races, incumbents John Lamanna, Kali Klubertanz, Michael Lake and Seth Thatcher all ran unopposed.

Incumbent Rebecca Hogan had no opposition in Clerk of Circuit Court race and incumbent Commonwealth’s Attorney Ross Spicer won with no opposition.

Kitty Hockman-Nicholas defeated Marietta Cather Walls in a campaign for the Lord Fairfax Soil and Water Conservation District Board of Directors. Hockman-Nicholas won with 53 pewrcent of the vote to 46 percent for Cather Walls.

Incumbent Commissioner of Revenue Ellen Murphy won with no opposition.

C. William Orndorff was elected treasurer with no opposition.

In a campaign that bitterly divided Winchester Republicans, independent Marc Abrams crushed Republican Beau Correll Jr. in the campaign for commonwealth’s attorney in the city. Abrams, who is acting commonwealth’s attorney, had collected 76 percent of the vote with all precincts reporting. Correll won 21 percent.