Area town election ballots set

Voters in Shenandoah County’s six towns can expect to see familiar and new names on the local election ballots May 3.

Candidates seeking seats on town councils in Edinburg, Mount Jackson, New Market, Strasburg, Toms Brook and Woodstock filed necessary paperwork with the Shenandoah County General Registrar’s Office on Tuesday. Voters in New Market, Strasburg and Toms Brook also will choose mayors in the election.

Voters can choose from six candidates running for three seats on Edinburg Town Council. Councilman Clyde Stuart Beachy and Councilwoman Teresa Cutlip Minnick will seek re-election. Carrie Lynn Hamilton, Bradley Glenn Pollack, Paul Blacet and Stephen Charles Van Stee filed to run for council. Councilman Ed Hite did not file.

Mount Jackson
Voters can choose from four candidates seeking three Town Council seats up for election. Councilmen Dennis Lee Andrick, Donald Ivan Pifer and Rodney Max Shepherd will seek re-election. Allen L. Asbury also filed to run for one of three seats up for election.

New Market
Voters can choose from two candidates running for mayor and three people seeking three seats on Town Council. Councilman Charles E. “Eddie” Litten will challenge Mayor Douglas Clyde Bradley for the mayor’s seat rather than seek re-election. Councilmen Timothy William Palmer and Scott Christopher Wymer will run for re-election. Peter Richard Hughes also will seek a seat on council.

Voters can choose from three candidates running for mayor and six people seeking four seats on Town Council. Councilmen Donald Manning Le Vine and Richard Allen “Rich” Orndorff Jr. and former councilman Justin Mark Ritenour are running for mayor. Councilman Robert B. Baker and Councilwoman Jocelyn Chriss Vena are seeking re-election. Taralyn Manuel-Nicholson, Kimberly M. Bishop, Shirley Frances Maddox and Barbara H. Plitt also are running for council seats. Vice Mayor Richard Redmon did not file to run for another term.

Toms Brook
All six seats on Town Council and the mayor are up for re-election. Councilman Walter A. Stepp and Councilwomen Mary J. O’Toole, Dawn V. Rinker and Heather A. Sager filed to run for re-election. Councilman Kevin Johnson and Councilwoman Leda Stickler did not file. Longtime Mayor Phil Fauber will not seek re-election. The mayor’s seat and two on council will have to be filled by write-in candidates.

Councilman Michael Franklin Funkhouser and Councilwomen Jacqueline L. Lambert and Alicia Gutshall are running for re-election.

Contact staff writer Alex Bridges at 540-465-5137 ext. 125, or abridges@nvdaily.com

An earlier version of this story should have stated that six people were running for four seats on Strasburg Town Council and that Vice Mayor Richard Redmon had not filed to seek another term.