Front Royal Rotarians present school awards

Senior Emma Ruby receives a Virginia Tech flag and her Rotary Club of Front Royal scholarship for $6,000 from Rotary President Jim Eastham at a Friday meeting. Rachel Mahoney/Daily

FRONT ROYAL – Students and teachers at Warren County Public Schools received scholarships and awards from the Rotary Club of Front Royal Friday afternoon.

Rotarians and community members honored nine teachers and three students for the 18th year in a row at the meeting. Robert Metvedt, Rotarian and chair of the scholarship committee, acquainted attendees with Warren County Public Schools alumni and their achievements as an introduction to the meeting.

Skyline High School senior Emma Ruby accepted the $6,000 scholarship awarded to her by Rotary President Jim Eastham with a speech. She told those at the meeting that she’ll be heading to Virginia Tech in the fall to pursue studies in neuroscience and public policy.

“I just really am super committed to service, and that’s why I want to go into either public policy or medicine, where I’ll be interacting with people all day and sort of hearing people’s concerns and being able to address those directly through my career,” she said, thanking those present.

County Administrator Doug Stanley also presented two Warren County High School seniors with Student Athlete awards and associated $250 in scholarship money. Jayme Goode received the Heidi Moore award, while Joseph Rutherford took away the John Marlow award, presented to them by John Moore and John Marlow, respectively.

Warren County High School seniors Jayme Goode, middle left, and Joseph Rutherford, middle right, display the Student Athlete awards given to them Friday by the Front Royal Rotary Club. Pictured with them are County Administrator Doug Stanley, left, and Rotary President Jim Eastham. Rachel Mahoney/Daily

Warren County Public Schools Superintendent Greg Drescher introduced each teacher earning awards with an abbreviated account of their contributions. He said that the school principals had written plenty of positive feedback on their award-winning teachers.

The 2016 recipients of Rotarian Awards for Excellence in Educating Youth are as follows:
• Tabitha Lee from E. Wilson Morrison Elementary
• Amy Lelito from Leslie Fox Keyser Elementary
• Kim Brown from Hilda J. Barbour Elementary
• Meredith Miller from A. S. Rhodes Elementary
• Hope Petty from Ressie Jeffries Elementary
• Christina Tharp from Warren County Middle
• Denise Nelson from Warren County High
• Heath Gilbert from Skyline High
• Carrie Ann Streett from Brighter Futures Learning Community, selected from Warren County’s specialty schools

Contact staff writer Rachel Mahoney at 540-465-5137 ext. 164, or rmahoney@nvdaily.com

Winners of Rotarian Awards for Excellence in Educating Youth, one teacher from each school in Warren County, stand with their plaques and respective principals at a Friday meeting of the Front Royal Rotary Club. Rachel Mahoney/Daily