County votes in local elections

Shenandoah County residents headed to the polls Tuesday to vote in town council and mayoral elections.

In New Market, incumbent Douglas C. Bradley defeated challenger Charles E. “Eddie” Litten with 73 percent of the vote, according to unofficial results.

“I feel really good about it,” said Bradley. “We want to work on eco development and that’s going to be my number one goal and will hopefully be the council’s number one goal. It’s a wonderful town to work and live and raise our kids in and we need to expand to get some business here.”

Peter R. Hughes, Councilman Timothy W. Palmer and Councilman Scott C. Wymer ran for three seats and received 34, 31 and 32 of the vote, respectively. Results were unofficial.

In Toms Brook, no mayoral candidates filed in time for the election. Write-in ballots will be assessed by the registrar’s office Wednesday to determine a winner.

Four of the town’s six council seats were retained by incumbents Councilwomen Mary Johanna O’Toole, Dawn V. Rinker and Heather A. Sager and Councilman W.A. “Walt” Stepp, unofficial results reported. Longtime members Kevin Johnson and Lida Stickler did not file to run.

The town’s other two seats will be determined Wednesday after the assessment of write-ins.

In Woodstock, Councilman Michael F. Funkhouser and Councilwomen Jacqueline L. Lambert and Alicia Gutshall all ran unopposed, retaining their three seats on council. Funkhouser received 35 percent of the vote, Lambert 42 and Gutshall 29. Results were unofficial.

In Mount Jackson, voters re-elected Town Councilmen Dennis L. Andrick, Donald I. “Donnie” Pifer and Rodney M. Shepherd to four-year terms, according to unofficial results. Allen L. “Al” Asbury also ran for one of the three seats in the election. Pifer received 29 percent of the vote, Andrick 28 percent and Shepherd 26.

In Edinburg, the three available Town Council seats were won by Councilman Clyde S. Beachy, Councilwoman Teresa C. Minnick and Stephen C. Van Stee. Beachy and Van Stee each received 19 percent of the vote, and Minnick 18. Six individuals ran for the three seats, including Carrie L. Hamilton, Brad Pollack and Paul Blacet. Results were unofficial.

“It’s exciting news and I’m very happy about it,” said Van Stee.

Contact staff writer Nathan Budryk at 540-465-5137 ext. 155, or nbudryk@nvdaily.com