Front Royal election ballot set

FRONT ROYAL – The ballot for the town’s local elections in November is set.

Warren County General Registrar Carol Tobin provided the ballot information Tuesday that shows five people filed by June 14 to seek the three council seats up for election. Only one person filed to run for mayor.

Councilmen Eugene R. Tewalt will seek another term on council. Councilman Jacob L. “Jake” Meza, appointed to the panel earlier this year to replace Daryl Funk, who was elected Warren County Circuit Court clerk in November, will seek his first term on council.

Michael D. “Mike” McCool, William A. Sealock Jr. and Robert M. Tennett Jr. also filed to run for council. Tennett has run in previous council elections. Sealock serves on the Front Royal-Warren County Economic Development Authority board of directors. McCool ran for Warren County commissioner of the revenue two years ago.

Councilman Bret Hrbek does not plan to run for re-election.

Vice Mayor Hollis L. Tharpe will run unopposed for mayor. Current Mayor Timothy Darr chose not to seek another term.

Election Day is Nov. 8.

Council moved local elections from May to November of the even-numbered years effective in 2014. Mayoral elections are held every two years. Council members serve four-year terms.

At a council work session Monday, Town Attorney Douglas Napier spoke briefly about potential changes members could make to the Front Royal town charter. Council is expected to discuss the charter at a future meeting. Changes to the charter require approval by the Virginia General Assembly.

Darr told council he intends to propose that the town move its local elections back to May and change the mayor’s terms from 2 years to 4 years. In response to a question by Councilwoman Bébhinn Egger, Napier said council could impose term limits through a charter amendment.

Contact staff writer Alex Bridges at 540-465-5137 ext. 125, or