Eight Virginia congressional districts return incumbents

WASHINGTON (AP) — Three new faces won election to Congress from Virginia Tuesday, following the retirements of two longtime House members and the primary defeat of former House Majority Leader Eric Cantor.

In the closest race, Republican Delegate Barbara Comstock defeated Democrat John Foust in the 10th Congressional District, and will replace retiring GOP Rep. Frank Wolf, who has held the seat since 1981.

In the liberal 8th Congressional District, former Virginia Lt. Gov. Don Beyer, defeated Republican Micah Edmond, as expected. Beyer, who won a seven-candidate Democratic primary in June, will succeed longtime Democratic Rep. Jim Moran, who is retiring.

In the state’s 7th Congressional District in central Virginia, Republican Dave Brat defeated Democrat Jack Trammell. Brat stunned the political establishment in June by knocking off then-House Majority Leader Eric Cantor in the Republican primary.

Eight congressional districts in Virginia all returned the incumbents for another term:

–In the 1st Congressional District, in east-Central Virginia, Republican Rep. Rob Wittman defeated Democrat Norman Mosher to win a fifth term in office.

–In the 2nd Congressional District, in the eastern part of the state, Republican Scott Rigell knocked off Democrat Suzanne Patrick to claim a third term.

–In the 3rd Congressional District, in eastern Virginia, Democrat Bobby Scott won an unopposed 12th term in office.

–In the 4th Congressional District, in southeast Virginia, Republican Randy Forbes beat Elliott Fausz to win an eighth term.

–In the 5th Congressional District, in the middle of the state, Republican Robert Hurt defeated Democrat W. Lawrence Gaughan to claim a third term.

–In the 6th Congressional District, which borders West Virginia, Robert Goodlatte beat Libertarian Will Hammer and Independent Green candidate Elaine B. Hildebrandt to win a 12th term. The Democrats did not field a candidate in this race.

–In the 9th Congressional District, in southwest Virginia, Republican Morgan Griffith bested Independent William R. Carr to win a third term. Democrats didn’t field a candidate in this race.

–In the 11th Congressional District, which includes Northern Virginia, Democrat Gerald E. Connolly won a fourth term by beating Republican Suzanne K. Scholte.