nvdaily.com link to home page

Traffic | Weather | Mobile Edition
      Archives | Subscribe

Community News arrow School Notes

| 0

Warren County students receive scholarships, awards

The following graduating seniors at Warren County High School received scholarships for attending college in the fall or awards from high school:

Shiv Patel received a $48,000 Ferrum College Scholarship. Amy Baker and Andrew Bush each received $36,000.

Kathryn Reedy received the $40,000 Virginia Wesleyan College Academic Dean Scholarship.

Tyler Post received the $74,000 Bridgewater College McKinney ACE Scholarship, and Christopher Larsen received $64,000.

Daniel Martinez received the $20,000 Shenandoah University Scholarship, and Rachel Cerretani $40,000.

The Champlain College Presidential Scholarship for $40,000 was Angelica Hernandez.

Kayla Gibbons and Kelsey Gibbons each received $4,800 from the Penn State University Scholarship, and Matthew Nicholson received $92,000 from the Virginia Military Institute Scholarship.

Lord Fairfax Community College awarded Alba Rivera $3,028 from its Ernestine Jordan Principal's Scholarship, $2,230 from its Warren County High School Tech Prep Scholarship and $1,000 from its Phyllis Madagan Athey Memorial Scholarship.

Other scholarships and awards given:
West Virginia University Scholarship, to Kyle Brewster for $4,000.
Eastern Mennonite University Scholarship, to Courtney Pullen for 56,960.
High Point University Scholarship, to Caroline West for 40,000.
Randolph Macon College Scholarship, to Zane Grudzinski for $86,868.
Sweet Briar College Scholarship, to Faith Gaile, for $26,000.
Virginia Tech Pamplin Scholarship, to Alyson Fox for $1,000.
Virginia Tech Dr. Benton Leach Scholarship, to Ariel Asher for $1,602.
Florida Atlantic University Scholarship, to Allie Mingo for $500.
Concord University Scholarship, to Nicole Hutzell for $16,000.
Society of American Military Engineers Scholarship, to Maria Haas for $2,000.
Gold Award Scholarship --Girl Scouts, to Emma Rusnak for $1,000.
American Red Cross Scholarship, to Kayla Gibbons for $250.
Mississippi Band of Choctaw Indians Scholarship, to Allie Mingo for $14,000.
Educational Credit Management Corporation Scholarship, to Sayeddal Sayed, for $500, and the Sodexo Award for $500.
Skyline Soaring and Education Foundation award went to Maria Haas.
Student Sportsmanship Award went to Carol Ashley for Virginia Tech.
Student Contribution went to Amber Munger for Virginia Tech.
Adult Contribution went to John Tierney and Butch Rutherford.
Lifetime Athletic Pass went to Mary Kay Moose.
Most Outstanding Female Athlete went to Kayla Gibbons for Penn State.
Most Outstanding Male Athlete went to Tyler Post for Bridgewater College.
Most Outstanding Female Performer went to Alesha Adams.
Most Outstanding Male Performer Jeffrey Budwash for LFCC.
Coach of the Year went to Chris Whitney and Matt Wadas.
Michael Jenkins Memorial Scholarship Tyler Post for Bridgewater College.
Dale Henry Memorial ScholarshipZane Grudzinski and Randolph Macon.
Barbour/Butler/Kilby Scholarship, to Shiv Patel for $1,000.
Carl and Emily Thompson Charitable Trust, to Maximilan Randolph for $150.
Skyline Caverns Scholarship, to Caroline West for $500.
Beth Medved Waller Community Scholarship, to Nicholaus Wheeler for $500.

Shenandoah Valley Orthodontics, to Chris Larson for Bridgewater College.
Front Royal Soccer Association, to Nick Wheeler for Virginia Tech. and Daniel Martinez for Shenandoah University.

John Phillip Sousa Award, to Cassidy Peregoy and Front Royal Credit Union -- Harry S. Turnmeyer Scholarship, for $1,000.

Front Royal Elks Lodge Scholarship, went to Andrew Peterson for $1,000, Shenandoah Fine Art of New York -- Visual Arts for $500 and Calvary Episcopal Church Scholarship for $1,500.

Front Royal Rotary Club Scholarship, to Jessica Platter for $2,500, Blue Ridge Arts Council -- Nancy R. Lehew Arts School for $500, Francis "Lou" Clark Powell -- Warren County Retired Teachers' Association for $1,250 and U.S. Marine Corps Scholastic Excellence Award.

Beautification of Front Royal Scholarship, went to Tyler Post for $1,000, Warren County Youth Council for $500 and U.S. Marine Corps Distinguished Athlete Award.

Class of 1958 Scholarship went to Courtney Pullen for $700 and Carl and Emily Thompson Charitable Trust for $600.

Warren County High School Tech Prep Scholarship went to Alba Rivera for $2,600, Ernestine Jordan Principal Scholarship for $3,028 and Phyllis Madagan Athey Memorial Scholarship for $1,000

Front Royal Elks Lodge Scholarship, Performance Coatings Scholarship and Izaak Walton League Scholarship went to Emily Rusnak each for $1000, Elizabeth H. "Sue" Grant Memorial Scholarship and Valley Garden Club Scholarship each for $500, and the John Phillip Sousa Award.

WCAA Scholarships for Virginia Tech went to Britt Cupp, Alyson Fox, Andrew Peterson and Kelly McGinnis; and to Kaitlin Harriman for Radford University and Kayla Gibbons for Penn State.

The following students received United States military scholarships:

Heath Almarode, $150,000 from the U.S. Army GI Bill Educational Package.
Ashley Garrett, $144,400 from the U.S. Navy Educational Package.
Rachel Lamb, $144,400 from the U.S. Navy Educational Package.
Dale Meek, $144,400 from the U.S. Navy Educational Package.
Nathan Christman, $80,000 from the U.S. Marines GI Bill Educational Package.
Dylan Davis $80,000 from the U.S. Marines GI Bill Educational Package.
Tre'Wines $80,000 from the U.S. Marines GI Bill Educational Package .
Jeremy Sewell $80,000 from the U.S. Marines GI Bill Educational Package.


Comments that are posted represent the opinion of the commenter and not the Northern Virginia Daily/nvdaily.com.

More Community News

Star Readers Recommend

Community News Sections

Announcements Apple Blossom Festival Awards Classes Clubs Contests County fairs Donations Entertainment Fundraisers grants Honors Milestones Military Music Programs Reunions Scholarships School menu School Notes Volunteers

News | Sports | Business | Lifestyle | Obituaries | Opinion | Multimedia| Entertainment | Classifieds
Contact Us | NIE | Place a Classified | Privacy Policy | Comments/Submissions Policy | Subscribe

Copyright © The Northern Virginia Daily | nvdaily.com | 152 N. Holliday St., Strasburg, Va. 22657 | (800) 296-5137

2013 Virginia Press Association Sweepstakes Winner
The Best Small Daily Newspaper in Virginia!

nvdaily.com | seeshenandoah.com