Posted January 26, 2013 | comments Leave a comment

Letter to the Editor: Wayside seeks community support


It has been a tough realization but The Wayside Foundation Board recognizes Wayside Theatre cannot continue without significant annual community support.

We appreciate the quick replies expressing shock and concern. We hope this foretells the support we will receive in the next 90 days to raise $90,000 for short-term debt and to increase ticket sales and support.

This is a first step to achieve the needed $250,000 annually. The next production may well be the last of the 51st season. Everyone needs to see "Smoke on the Mountain Homecoming" between Jan. 26 and March 17.

The Board wishes to affirm support for Artistic Director Warner Crocker and the entire Wayside staff and crew. They are doing a tremendous job in the face of overwhelming odds.

For our crisis strategy we applaud Crocker for making the painful changes to slash expenses by $300,000.

Because of uncertainty, Wayside Theatre has suspended selling subscriptions for next season. We are attempting to reach all individual and corporate donors. The word is out through every media venue. We are seeking to uncover new and untapped sources of support. We are turning to loyal patrons to stress the importance of annual support. As a board we are reaching out to our circle of friends to not only make contributions and buy tickets, but to help spread the word to potential patrons.

Wayside contributes to the valley in so many ways. Through the arts program, the theatre touches hundreds of young lives. The stage is the first step toward many individual goals and is a reward of long years of work. Players have put smiles on faces and tears in eyes and have let us escape our problems, if even for a short time.

The board asks all to look deep within and assess what Wayside means to the quality of their life, and donate what you can and please spread the word.

Dr. Byron Brill, President and the Wayside Foundation Board of Directors:
Mary Ruth Allred Follett, vice president
Adele Skolits, treasurer
Tara Shostek, secretary
Dr. James Laster, executive member at large
Dick Helm
Dr. Connie Stadler
Brad Snowden
Patrick Carper
Leslie Bowery
William Sirbaugh Jr.
Stephanie Pendleton
Jim Wink
Kym Crump
Jen Pope
Barbara Scarlett
Julie Spaid Hockman
Pam Dyke

Copyright © The Northern Virginia Daily | nvdaily.com | 152 N. Holliday St., Strasburg, Va. 22657 | (800) 296-5137