2012-2013 All-Area Boys Basketball Team

First team

• Travis Cooper, Central

The junior averaged 19.4 points per game for the Falcons. He led the area with 4.8 assists per game, and averaged 6.9 rebounds per game. Cooper was a second team All-Bull Run selection.

• Taylor Loudan, Sherando

The senior averaged 10.7 points per game, and a team-best 3.8 assists per contest. Loudoun helped lead the Warriors to a 14-8 record. Loudan was a first team All-Northwestern selection.

• Jonathan Kloosterman, Strasburg

The junior averaged a double-double for the Rams this season. Kloosterman averaged 15.5 points and 10.0 rebounds per game. The center was a first team All-Bull Run selection.

• Aaron Miller, Sherando

The senior averaged 19.6 points per game. He also shot 52.4 percent from the field and 40.8 percent from 3-point range. Miller helped lead the Warriors to the district regular season title.

• Matt Nicholson, Warren County

The senior led the area, averaging 20.9 points per game. He averaged 7.3 rebounds per game, and an area-best 2.8 steals per game. Nicholson was a first team All-Evergreen selection.

Coach of the Year

• Patrick Smoot, Stonewall Jackson

In his first year as coach, Smoot took a team that had won only one game in three years, and led them to a seven-win season. The Generals won five games in their district.

Second team

• Kylmen Breeden, Skyline

• Colton Harlow, Stonewall Jackson

• Tyler Hott, Strasburg

• Arkell Goring, Strasburg

• Tanner Ruths, Sherando

Third team

• Kenya-Ray Abrams, MMA

• Carson Holden, R-MA

• Brandon Ritter, Central

• Blake Steele, Warren County

• Casey Stewart, Skyline

Comment Policy

Print This Article

Sherando High School