Posted May 1, 2013 | comments Leave a comment

SU roundup: Shenandoah honors senior student-athletes

Daily Staff Report - sports@nvdaily.com

WINCHESTER -- The Shenandoah University Department of Intercollegiate Athletics honored more than 60 senior student-athletes in its annual Senior Dinner on Monday night in the Brandt Student Center's Ferrari Room.

The 63 men and women, representing 17 of the department's 20 sports plus the cheerleading team, were presented with their four-year monogram awards by their head coaches and in front of an audience that included parents and various university leaders.

Additionally, six student-athletes: three men and three women, were presented with the department's major awards.

Voted on by the head coaches, administration and head athletic trainer, the department awarded Athlete of the Year, Student-Athlete of the Year and Athletic Director's Award for both men and women.

The AD's Award, in its fourth year, is awarded to the male and female that best embodies the Division III ideal of academics, athletics and community service.

Sydney Anderson, from the women's lacrosse team, and Cody Smallwood from the baseball team were the 2013 AD Award winners.

The athletes of the year were Amber VanHorn, field hockey, and Jajuan Johnson, football.

Denise Mitchell, softball, and Nick Erdman, football, took home student-athlete of the year honors.

Mitchell was unable to accept her award at the ceremony because she was playing the ODAC Tournament championship game in Salem.

Copyright © The Northern Virginia Daily | nvdaily.com | 152 N. Holliday St., Strasburg, Va. 22657 | (800) 296-5137