VBL announces season honors

Daily Staff Report – sports@nvdaily.com

Strasburg outfielder Jordan Tarsovich was voted the Valley Baseball League’s Most Valuable Player on Tuesday in a vote of league administrators and media. Tarsovich was joined by Harrisonburg’s Justin Camp as the Pitcher of the Year and Woodstock’s Phil Betterly as the Manager of the Year.

Tarsovich and Camp were two of 32 players voted to the All-Valley League teams, including 16 on the first team and 16 on the second team. Tarsovich was an unanimous selection and was joined by Charles Town’s Matt Durst, Staunton’s James Vasquez, Phil Lipari and Michael Adkins and Harrisonburg’s Thomas Smith, Eric Kalbfleisch and Andy Perez as players to appear on every ballot.

Harrisonburg and Staunton led all teams with six honorees each. New Market and Woodstock had five honorees each while Charles Town (three) and Strasburg (two) each put multiple players on the teams. Waynesboro, Aldie, Rockbridge, Winchester and Front Royal had one honoree each.

Tarsovich led the Valley League with a .414 batting average in 41 games played. In 157 at-bats, he collected 65 hits, 10 doubles, two home runs, a triple and 10 RBIs. The outfielder from Virginia Military Institute added 34 runs, 28 walks, three sacrifices and 13 steals. He helped the Express to a 22-21 record and the number three seed in the North Division. On Tuesday, Tarsovich and Strasburg defeated Charles Town, 4-3, to advance to the divisional round of the VBL Playoffs.

In nine appearances, including eight starts, Camp went 6-1 with a 1.37 ERA in 59 innings pitched. The right-hander struck out 45 and walked just 16 while limiting opponents to 33 hits and nine earned runs. He tossed one complete game and ranked in the top 10 in the league in ERA (fifth), strikeouts (ninth), league-best record of 32-12 and clinched the number one overall seed heading in to the playoffs.

Betterly led Woodstock to a 26-17 record and the top overall seed in the North Division. His team lost Game 3 of a best-of-three series to Aldie on Tuesday night in the divisional playoff semifinals.

Joining Tarsovich and Camp on the All-Valley League First Team were Durst, Vazquez, Lipari, Smith and Kalbfleisch as well as New Market’s Brandon Gum, Justin Cooper, Aaron Cressley, and Adam Zipko, Charles Town’s Waldyvan Estrada, Staunton’s Bryant Hayman, Strasburg’s Cameron Johnson, Harrisonburg’s Connor Kaden and Woodstock’s Ricky Winters.