JMU roundup: Dukes’ Angel earns Rookie of the Year honor

Daily Staff Report – sports@nvdaily.com

CHARLOTTESVILLE – James Madison University redshirt-freshman attacker Betsy Angel was voted the 2014 All-State University Division Women’s Lacrosse Rookie of the Year by the Virginia Sports Information Directors (VaSID). James Madison lacrosse fielded three members on the all-state first team as well as two members on the all-state second team.

Junior defender Lexi Cross, junior midfielder Alison Curwin and junior attacker Stephanie Finley were named to the VaSID All-State First Team. Junior goalkeeper Schylar Healy and senior defender Leah Perrotta were named to the VaSID All-State Second Team.

Angel, a 2014 Colonial Athletic Association All-Rookie Team honoree and two-time CAA Rookie of the Week winner, earned a starting position for the Dukes midway through the season after posting five points over a two-game road trip. She finished the year with 22 goals, scoring on 62.9 percent of her shots, a shooting percentage that led all players who made at least 20 shots on the year.

Cross, Curwin and Finley were all honored this season both on the All-CAA First Team and Intercollegiate Women’s Lacrosse Coaches Association (IWLCA) All-South Region Second Team. Cross and Finley were also named to the Eastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC) Division I Women’s Lacrosse All-Star Second Team.

Healy joined Cross and Finley with spots in the 88-member tryout pool for the 2014-15 U.S. Women’s National Team. Healy and Perrotta both earned All-CAA Second Team honors in 2014.

The Dukes finished the 2014 season with an 11-7 record, including a 4-1 record against league foes. JMU earned a share of the CAA regular season championship and ended the season as the runner-up in the CAA tournament.

Virginia’s Courtney Swan was voted the 2014 VaSID All-State University Division Women’s Lacrosse Player of the Year. Virginia’s head coach Julie Myers was tabbed the All-State Coach of the Year after the Cavaliers advanced to the NCAA semifinals.