Stegemiller, LeBlond earn top honors at 100-Mile Run

Daily Staff Report — sports@nvdaily.com

WOODSTOCK — Olivier LeBlond was the top overall finisher and Megan Stegemiller was the top female finisher in the 36th Annual Old Dominion 100-Mile Run held on June 7.

LeBlond, an Arlington resident, finished the race in a time of 17 hours, five minutes and two seconds to finish well ahead of second-place finisher Keith Knipling (19:37.01) of Alexandria. LeBlond also won the event in 2012.

Stegemiller, last year’s women’s champion, defended her title by finishing with a time of 20:56.22. The Annandale resident finished ninth overall in the race.

Two local runners also finished within the 28-hour limit, as Front Royal’s Karsten Brown placed 13th with a time of 21:17.24, while Edinburg’s Jeff Pence finished 34th with a time of 27:44.32.

Of the 61 runners that competed at this year’s Old Dominion 100-Mile Run, 28 finished in less than 24 hours — a 10-percent higher completion rate than the previous 35 years — and 34 runners beat the 28-hour time limit. The runners that finished in less than 24 hours earned the coveted sterling silver buckle award.

The race, which began and ended at the Woodstock Fairgrounds and wound through the town of Woodstock and into Fort Valley, drew runners from all over the United States, Canada and Scotland.

Old Dominion 100-Mile Run results

Place Name City Time

1 Olivier LeBlond Arlington 17:05.02

2 Keith Knipling Alexandria 19:37.01

3 Adam Lint Havre de Grace, Md. 19:53.21

4 Mike Jones Stuarts Draft 20:06.05

5 Thaddeus Meyer Arlington 20:16.34

6 Christopher Dempsey Arlington 20:32.16

7 Kyle Fricke Henrico 20:38.08

8 Ken Niemimaa Pickering, Ontario 20:55.15

9 Megan Stegemiller Annandale 20:56.22

10 Paul Gorman Redwood City, Ca. 21:05.41

11 Howard Edmiston Boone, N.C. 21:11.05

12 Valerie Wrenholt Mooresville, N.C. 21:15.28

13 Karsten Brown Front Royal 21:17.24

14 Anji Nussbaumer Boone, N.C. 21:40.04

15 Jeffrey Dean Charlotte, N.C. 21:48.13

16 Ryan Nebel Henrico 22:08.19

17 Fabrice Guillavme Ashburn 22:28.16

18 Jimmy Dean Freeman Los Angeles, Ca. 22:37.13

19 Eddie Carrigg Eastlake, Ohio 22:42.18

20 Colin Montgomery Scotland, UK 22:42.23

21 Todd Baum Fayetteville, N.Y. 22:44.47

22 Eric Deustch Pittsburgh 22:51.29

23 Scott Crabb Bristow 22:52.09

24 Tim Jump Langhorne, Pa. 22:58.29

25 Kev Hawn Spring Grove, Pa. 23:21.11

26 Brandon Petelin Washington, D.C. 23:24.48

27 Andy Kumeda Sierra Madre, Ca. 23:25.57

28 John Fitz Kensington, Md. 23:39.09

29 Thomas Glenn Levitown, N.Y. 24:00.27

30 Jay Finkle Roanoke 25:43.36

31 Elaine Stypula Farmington Hills, Mich. 26:40.47

32 Kimberly Weatherford Lynchburg 27:07.22

33 Thomas Brown Honolulu 27:10.10

34 Jeff Pence Edinburg 27:44.32