JMU roundup: Dukes’ Carroll named to all-region baseball team

GREENSBORO, N.C. — Junior shortstop Chad Carroll of the James Madison University baseball team has been named to the 2015 ABCA/Rawlings NCAA Division I All-East Region Second Team, as announced by the American Baseball Coaches Association on Wednesday afternoon.

Carroll, who was named All-East Region for the second time in his career and All-CAA First Team earlier this year, was arguably the hottest hitter in the league down the stretch. The shortstop hit safely in 13 of his final 14 contests, finishing the year with a .339 batting average and .445 on-base percentage, both tops on the team. Carroll also led the team in hits (62), runs (48), doubles (13) and stolen bases (27).

The Oakton native was also the last Duke to earn a spot on the All-Region team, garnering second-team honors after the 2013 season as well. He is the ninth JMU player to earn a spot in two different seasons, joining Kevin Munson (2009-10),Turner Phelps (2008-09), Kellen Kulbacki (2006-07), Eddie Kim (2002-03), Greg Miller (1999, 2001), Carey Nemeth (1984-85), Russ Dickerson (1980-81) and Lorenzo Bundy (1979, 1981).

No Duke has ever been named All-Region three different times, but JMU has earned at least one All-Region nod in eight of the last 10 years, including six seasons in a row from 2006-2011.

The ABCA/Rawlings All-America team was first recognized in 1949 and is the oldest All-America team in college baseball. The ABCA All-America committee is chaired by Dean Ehehalt of Monmouth University and also includes head coaches Mike Stone (Massachusetts), Brian O’Connor (Virginia), Tim Corbin (Vanderbilt), Steve Jaksa (Central Michigan), Steve Smith (Baylor), Tommy Raffo (Arkansas State) and George Horton (Oregon).

The ABCA, founded in 1945, is the primary professional organization for baseball coaches at the amateur level. Its over 6,600 members represent all 50 states and 23 countries. Since its initial meeting of 27 college baseball coaches in June 1945, Association membership has broadened to include eight divisions: NCAA Division I, II and III, NAIA, Junior College, Pacific Association Division, High School and Youth. The 72nd annual ABCA Convention will be held Jan. 7-10, 2016 in Nashville, Tennessee.

The Dukes return all but two players from this year’s team in 2016, including eight of their nine starters.