VHSL approves new realignment plan

The Virginia High School League Executive Committee on Wednesday approved the realignment committee’s final 24-region alignment plan and the final district plan for the 2017-18 and 2018-19 school years.

With the approved plan Sherando will remain in Group 4A. The school was originally slated to move to Group 5A, but won an appeal on Aug. 3 to remain in 4A due to adjusted average daily membership numbers.

A new 13-team Northwestern District is also now finalized, which includes Warren County moving from the Bull Run District to the Northwestern District.

Starting next year the Bull Run District will have six teams, only five for football as Rappahannock County does not play a district schedule in football. Strasburg, Central, Clarke County, Madison County, George Mason and Rappahannock County will be in the Bull Run.

Stonewall Jackson will remain in Group 1A in the Shenandoah District. Robert E. Lee will be joining the district, making it a nine-team district.

The new Northwestern District will consist of Skyline, Sherando, Warren County, Brentsville, Culpeper County, Fauquier, Handley, Kettle Run, Liberty (Bealeton), Manassas Park, Millbrook, William Monroe and James Wood. It will be the biggest district in the state.

Starting next year there will be no more conferences, and postseason play will start with regionals.