A card shower is planned for Ray Painter, who will celebrate his 100th birthday Sunday. Cards may be sent to him c/o The Mayflower, 409 S. Main St., Lexington, Virginia 24450.


The Warren County Democratic caucus scheduled for Wednesday to nominate a candidate for the 29th District of the House of Delegates has been canceled. Information: 703-896-0131.

Sustainability Matters

Sustainability Matters will host the following events:

• Green Gossip community discussion group meeting: noon, Wednesday at the Woodstock Garden Cafe at Fort Valley Nursery.

• Fiesta in the Garden: 1-4 p.m., Sunday at Barns of Rose Hill, Berryville. Workshops on how to grow a salsa garden, planting for pollinators and solving soil dilemmas. Tickets are $25 for Sustainability and Barns members; $30 for non-members. Registration required.

• Kids Fiesta Gardening program: 1-4 p.m., Sunday at Barns of Rose Hill for ages 5-12. Tickets: $10. Registration required.


Day of Prayer

Valley Pike Church of the Brethren in Maurertown will celebrate the Community National Day of Prayer at 7 p.m. Thursday. Theme is “Love One Another.”

Libraries closed

All branches of the Handley Regional Library System, Handley in Winchester, Bowman in Stephens City and Clarke in Berryville will be closed Friday and Saturday for the Apple Blossom Festival. Branches will reopen at 10 a.m. Monday.

Yard/bake sale

Limeton United Methodist Church in Bentonville will hold a yard and bake sale from 8 a.m. to 2 p.m. Friday and Saturday.


Shenandoah County Master Gardeners will be available to answer home horticulture questions from 9 a.m. to noon Friday at the Extension office in Woodstock. Information: 540-459-6140.


The New Market Area Library will host Books and Babies story time from 10 to 11 a.m. Friday for ages birth to 3. The theme will be Mother’s Day and tea parties. Information: 540-740-8650.


Delta Rho Sorority in Front Royal will host a benefit golf tournament Friday at Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Course in Front Royal.

Registration will start at 11:30 a.m. with lunch at noon followed by a shotgun start at 1 p.m. Cost is $85 per person or $340 per team. Proceeds benefit St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital.

Information, registration: Alice Hudson at 540-636-6364.


Antioch Church of the Brethren in Woodstock will host a gospel concert featuring PromiseLand Quartet and Ivan Parker at 7 p.m. Friday. No ticket required. An offering will be taken. Information: 540-459-3661 or 540-984-4359.

Brew ‘n Business

The Shenandoah County Chamber of Commerce will host Brew ‘n Business, a roundtable discussion for business owners and professionals, from 7:30 to 9 a.m. Friday at the Woodstock Cafe. Registration, information:


Shenandoah County Senior Extension Agent Bobby Clark is monitoring for slugs and seeking farmers interested in donating hay/trucks/fuel to farmers in Nebraska.

• Clark is scouting 3,000 to 4,000 acres of no-till corn and soybean this year to monitor for slugs. Farmers who have planted corn or soybeans or will plant over the next week are asked to contact him.

• Clark is also seeking farmers who are interested in donating hay or providing trucking and/or fuel to flooded farmers in Nebraska.

He may be reached by calling 540-459-6140.


The following volunteers are scheduled at the Strasburg Museum:

Wednesday: morning, Conly and Tina Crabill; afternoon, Doris Baker and Winnie Callihan.

Thursday: morning, Polly Wilson; afternoon, Polly Wilson.

Friday: morning, Howard and Mary Paige; afternoon, Bryan Stonesifer.

Saturday: morning, Pat Miller and Gladys Ritenour; afternoon, Carolyn McKiernan and Hannalor Rehbein.

School news

The following students at Robert E. Aylor Middle School in Stephens City have been named to the all-A honor roll for the third quarter:

• Sixth grade: Saskia Arnold, Jedidiah Bell, Evey Bottiny, James Campbell, Danica Caplan, Damien Costello, Edward Crawford, Katherine Crawford, Delaney Davis, Judson Dean, Casey Dodrill, H. D., Torren Ehrin, Liam Fazzini, Jared Flores, Sean Gallagher, Kate Guntang, Nathan Hall, Sydney Hamilton, Sarah Hawkins, Jessica Henry, Cassandra Hughes, Jacob Hunter, Mariana Kinnison, Jake Kohn, Ryan Maki, Stefani Martinez Bautista, Anayah Mason, Molly McCombs, Gavin McKelvey, Josiah Miller, Kaleb Nowlin, Jaiden O’Connor, Zachary Pendzich, Jacob Priest, Cora Rauser, Citlaly Sanchez-Salgado, Jacob Selby, Blake Sneddon, Benjamin Taylor, John Weisbrod.

• Seventh grade: Gavin Aufdenberg, Rylie Benson, Makenna Blair, Anna Borst, Riley Boyden, Evan Burrell, Rosemary Cavalier, Keller Cooley, Starr DeHaven-Venable, Alondra Espinosa Belmontes, Emily Foster, Russell Hart, Emma Kovak, Marisol Leon, Natalie Lopez Marin, Sarah Martin, Kelsen Pendleton, Wesley Pendzich, Kaytria Powers, Madison Reed, Karen Saravia, Shelby Shickle, Kaydan Shomaker, Annalise Sison, Benjamin Smith, Castanea Steward, Rebecca Stout, Natalie Toy, Jacqueline Udy, Abigail Vadnais, Katharine Van Eck, Adeline Wallin.

• Eighth grade: Eshal Aamer, Andrew Arnoldy, Jona Benson, Gavyn Blye, Ryleigh Combs, Georgia Doody, Noah Fazzini, Brodilyn Ireland, Chelsey Jones, Grace Kelley, Jaeda Long, Madison Maki, Hannah Mallow, Jayden Morgan, Justin Moss, Greyson Parish, Cameron Pinkley, Brendan Ridings, Ava Rucker, Sarah Sandoval Magana, Lucas Schraff, Mekenna Southern, Emily Woolever.

School news

The following students at Robert E. Aylor Middle School in Stephens City have been named to the A/B honor roll for the third quarter:

• Sixth grade: Parker Adams, Rae-Anna Allen, Owen Benavides, Noah Bowman, Robert Butler, Madeline Carper, Omar Castro, Morgan Catalano, Gladis Cruz-Velasco, Brock Davis, Lleyton Davis, Joseph Deignan, Caroline Del Cid, Landon Dodson, Emerson Fletcher, Anayah Fogle, David Foley, Rebecca Gavurnik, Tyler Gill, Ethan Golightly, Kayla Grum, Noah Harris, Natalie Heflin, Phoenix Hindt, Zane Hines, Ellie Irby, Logan Johnson, Julian Jones, Hayden LaFever, Tucker LaFever, Morgan Legge, Dillon Lord, Breiden Lowery, Mackenzie Mallow, Trenton Manili, Chase Melvin, Sergio Montes Modesto, Lillian Nelsen, Madison Orndorff, Sawyer Parish, Joshua Peterson, Benjamin Ramey, Damien Ray, Helena Ritter, Gavin Sakai, Jenifer Salinas Garcia, Ilse Sanchez-Salgado, Abby Schmidt, Noah Schurtz, Katlynn Seibert, William Shable, Caleb Snyder, Jackson Stein, Leah Stout, Lauren Stringer, Mason Stump, Elyah Thomas, Dorian Tragesser, George Twigg, Ken Vo, James Walters, Makayla Whitney, Wyatt Windle.

• Seventh grade: John Arellano Arellano, Seanna Baker, Tristan Bardelli, Kathryn Bryant, Csrlos Cupul Becki, Aubrey Czap, Nathan Dearman, Giovonna Divittorio, Kathryn Fleet, Alyssa Gage, Jathan Harper, Evanlyn Hess, Aidan Horton, Brady Jones, Sarah Lavey, Madison Lawrence, Aiden Mackey, Jovani Martinez Bautista, Hunter Mason, Dylan McGraw, Paige McKee, Mikayla McKinney, Cody Medek, Ashlyn Peiffer, Beau Scheulen, Adam Shobaki, Logan Springmann, Ryleigh Strosnider, Leila Sylvester Miller, Madison Tinsman, Justin Walker, Madison West, Abigail White, Aiden Wood.

• Eighth grade: Madelyn Adcock, Piper Beamon, Brooklynn Bowen, Chloe Bowers, Quintin Brown, Taylor Brown, Ethan Charles Butcher, Rachel Carter, Emma Clark, Charles Clawson, Zoe Costello, Jeremy Dawood, Y. D., Sage Edwards, Christian Feaster, Emily Funk, Evelyn Gavurnik, Jessica Greene, Kaytlyn Gregory, Clarke Heffern, Leticia Herrera, Delaney Holbrook, Bradyn Hoover, Emily Johnson, David Johnston, Hailey LaFever, Tierra Lester, Ian Liang, Jada Metz, McKenzie Miller, Maelyn Molden, Jayden Patten, Richard Reyes-Guevara, Gillian Richards, Cody Ridings, Zachery Rowe, Teagan Schwarz, Matthew Shipe, Evan Short, Jordan Steele, Brogan Teter, Alejandro Touset, Kaylee Via, Natilee Ware, Christopher Whitney, Clara Williams, Ethan Williams, Ryan Wismer, Autumn Zopp


Send in your events at