Shenandoah County voters rejected a meals tax referendum at the polls Tuesday.

Unofficial results posted on the Virginia Department of Elections website Tuesday night showed that 54.7% of the voters who cast ballots answered “No” while 45.3% answered “Yes” to the question “Should a meals tax of up to 4% on food and beverages sold by a restaurant be levied in Shenandoah County in order to fund education and public safety capital projects? If this food and beverage tax is adopted and a maximum tax rate of 4% is imposed, then the total tax imposed on all prepared food and beverage shall be 9.3%.”

Voters also went to the polls to cast ballots in countywide and district races. Longtime Treasurer Cindy A. George fended off a challenge by Richard R. Walker, District 3 representative on the Board of Supervisors to hold on to her seat in the constitutional office. Walker, who did not seek another term on the board, ran as the Republican Party candidate. George ran as the Democratic Party candidate.

Unofficial results showed George received 69.69% of the votes to Walker’s 30.21%.

Attorney Bradley G. Pollack defeated businessman F. Coe Sherrard in the race for the District 3 seat on the Board of Supervisors. Pollack ran as the Republican Party candidate. Sherrard ran as an independent. Reached by phone Tuesday night, Pollack thanked God, the citizens in the district’s voting precincts, Sherrard and his opponent’s supporters.

Unofficial results showed Pollack received 53.12% of the votes to Sherrard’s 46.51%.

District 2 Supervisor Steven Baker ran unchallenged to win re-election to another term. Former Strasburg Mayor Timothy Taylor won election to his first term representing District 6 on the board. Taylor will succeed longtime board member and current Chairman Conrad Helsley, who did not seek reelection.

Other candidates won re-election in the following uncontested races:

• Commonwealth’s Attorney Amanda McDonald Wiseley.

• Commissioner of the Revenue Kathy A. Black.

• Sheriff Timothy C. Carter.

• Joan M. Comanor and Mary L. Gessner, directors on the Lord Fairfax Soil and Water District board.

– Contact Alex Bridges at