The Board of Supervisors will receive a makeover come January as the three candidates victorious in Tuesday’s election - Walter Mabe, Cheryl Cullers and Delores Oates - have never held an elected office.

Mabe, an independent, defeated Supervisor Tom Sayre, the lone incumbent seeking re-election. According to unofficial statistics on the Virginia Department of Elections website, Mabe received 1,218 votes compared to Sayre’s 963 in the Shenandoah District.

In the South River District, the website states that Cullers received 974 votes compared to Republican Robert Hupman’s 699 and independent Leslie Mathew’s 587. She will replace Linda Glavis, who did not seek re-election.

In the North River District, the website states that Oates garnered 1,228 votes compared to Shae Parker’s 769. The current supervisor in the district, Dan Murray, did not seek reelection.

This marks the first election since the Front Royal-Warren County Economic Development Authority has alleged that the former EDA executive director and others stole or misappropriated $21.3 million.

All five sitting supervisors and other officials were charged with misdemeanor counts of misfeasance and nonfeasance due to their alleged lack of oversight over McDonald.

Last week, a judge dismissed the cases against each supervisor because the charges levied against them are not actual crimes.

While the supervisors’ charges were dropped, all of the supervisors have been chewed out by citizens during meetings due to their alleged negligence that allowed money to be stolen.

Sayre has countered this argument by pointing out that a judge ruled that McDonald attempted to frame him for crimes after he began questioning a workforce housing project.

Also in the county, Angie Moore became the clerk of circuit court with 4,085 votes compared to Janice Shanks' 3,794 and Stephen Jerome's 3,190.

Moore, an independent, is employed as a Winchester and Frederick County District Court clerk, having begun her career as a Warren County Circuit Court clerk in 2007.

The seat became available in this special election upon former Clerk Daryl Funk’s appointment as a judge. Moore will serve out the remaining half of Funk’s eight-year term.

Candidates who won uncontested races include Sherry Sours for commissioner of revenue, Jamie Spiker for treasurer and John Bell for commonwealth's attorney.

– Contact Josh Gully at