Longtime Shenandoah County Treasurer Cindy A. George won reelection to another term Tuesday and defeated her first challenger in more than 20 years.

George received 8,883 votes or 69.69% of the total votes cast in the race. Her opponent, Richard Walker, currently District 3 representative on the Board of Supervisors, received 3,851 votes or 30.21%. Walker did not seek reelection. George ran as the Democratic Party candidate. Walker ran for the Republican Party.

George spoke by phone on Wednesday in response to the election results.

“The voters chose the person who had the knowledge and experience in the office,” George said. “I think that the votes show the confidence that the voters have in me and I hope to continue to give them the good service that I’ve given them over the last 28 years.”

Walker admitted Wednesday he faced a difficult race against the incumbent.

“I didn’t fully expect to be the next treasurer,” Walker said by phone. “My purpose was to point out what I felt were shortcomings (by the Treasurer’s Office) as far as dealing with the public and you know hopefully those 3,700 votes will provide an impetus to re-examine and possibly change some of those policies.

“As far as the local elections, I’m fairly pleased,” Walker added. “I did call Mrs. George this morning and congratulated her on her win. She ran a very hard campaign. I’m just hopeful that the tone of accountability that I’ve tried to set will be followed through on and I think that it will.”


Central Absentee:

Walker (R) 126 votes, 22.74%; George (D) 428 votes, 77.26%

District 1

Orkney Springs: Walker 243, 38.45%; George 388, 61.39%

New Market: Walker 380, 29.19%; George 922, 70.81%

District 2

Conicville: Walker 323, 30.41%; George 738, 69.49%

Mt. Jackson: Walker 262, 30.05%; George 608, 69.72%

District 3

Edinburg: Walker 310, 30.63%; George 700, 69.17%

St. Luke: Walker 395, 39.54%; George 603, 60.36%

Fort Valley: Walker 207, 36.13%; George 366, 63.87%

District 4

Woodstock: Walker 493, 25.24%; George 1,456, 74.55%

District 5

Cedar Creek: Walker 26, 32.1%; George 55, 67.9%

Toms Brook: Walker 353, 27.66%; George 923, 72.34%

Lebanon Church: Walker 252, 30.77%; George 567, 69.23%

District 6

Strasburg: Walker 481, 29.84%; George 1,129, 70.04%

* * *


Voters in District 3 picked Republican Bradley G. Pollack over independent candidate F. Coe Sherrard. Pollack will succeed Richard Walker on the board effective Jan. 1.

Pollack received 1,437 votes or 53.12% compared to Sherrard with 1,258 or 46.51% of the votes, according to the unofficial results.


Central Absentee Precinct: Pollack (R) 42, 32.31%; Sherrard (I) 84, 64.62%

Edinburg: Pollack 515, 50.84%; Sherrard 498, 49.16%

St. Luke: Pollack 586, 59.19%; Sherrard 400, 40.40%

Fort Valley: Pollack 294, 51.4%; Sherrard 276, 48.25%

In races for two other board seats, District 2 Supervisor Steven Baker ran unopposed. Former Strasburg Mayor Timothy Taylor won election to his first term representing District 6 on the board to succeed longtime member Conrad Helsley who did not seek re-election.

* * *


Other candidates won reelection in the following uncontested races:

• Commonwealth’s Attorney Amanda McDonald Wiseley.

• Commissioner of the Revenue Kathy A. Black.

• Sheriff Timothy C. Carter.

• Joan M. Comanor and Mary L. Gessner, directors on the Lord Fairfax Soil and Water District board.

– Contact Alex Bridges at abridges@nvdaily.com